This history of the Town of Clarkson was originally published in thirty weekly articles in the Brockport Republic newspaper from February 6, 1890 to July 31, 1890. The editor at that time was Lorenzo T. Beach.
Remember when part of this history says that a place "at present" is owned by a person that it would be in 1890.
|TABLE OF CONTENTS|
|Article I||Geography of District. |
First Lots Sold in Clarkson, 1803 to 1809
|Article II||First Acts of the Pioneers. |
Purchases of 1810.
Experiences of Dr. Abel Baldwin.
|Article III||Correction of the Above Sketch. |
Settlers from 1811 to 1815.
Experiences of Gustavus Clark.
|Article IV||Settlers 1811 to 1820. |
Early Conditions in Industry, Religion, the Home.
|Article V||Early Trade Conditions; Experiences of Elihu Church. |
Division of the Town of Murray, Clarkson then including Hamlin.
First Election of Clarkson.
Sunervisors 1820 to 1890.
|Article VI||Entries in the Record Book of Lewis Swift, Justice of the Peace, 1820. |
Personal Sketches of Asa Clark, Dea. \Joel Palmer, Andrew Wentworth.
|Article VII||Early Cemeteries and Burial Conditions. |
The Old Plank Road.
Personal Sketches of Simon B. Jewett, Joshua Field, John Blodgett, Lemuel Haskell, Ambrose Sanford, Hiel Brockway, Rev. Amos Marshall, Gideon Holmes, Wright Spencer, Aristarchus Champion.
|Article VIII||Early Conditions of Courtship and Marriage. |
Personal Sketches of Jonathan Prosser, Jonathan Cobb, Ariel Chase, Robert Walker, Jonas Knapp, Dr. Joseph C. Tozier, Dr. Gideon Tabor.
|Article IX||Copy of Deed to Eli Hannibal, June 20, 1816. |
Personal Sketches of James and Henry Seymour, James R.. Buernsey, Benjamin Brooks, Consider Bachelor.
|Article X||Purchasers 1810 to 1815. |
Personal Sketches of Moses S. Parker, Isaac Bannister Williams, Simeon Daggett, Capt. Isaac Allen.
|Article XI||Further Records of Squire Lewis Swift 1820, to 1826; a List of Names Involved.|
|Article XII||Two Land. Titles. |
Personal Sketches of Aretas Haskell, Ebenezer Towle, Matthew A.. Patterson, Walter Perry, William Cook, Nancy Emor, Isaac J. Whitney.
|Article XIII||Pathmasters Appointed in First Election. |
Decisions on Local Conditions.
Earmarks for Livestock.
Disposition of "Strays."
The Clark Cemetery.
Personal Sketches of Lionel W. Udell, John W. Perry, Peter Stillman.
|Article XIV||Descriptions of Road Districts 1 to 35. |
Names of Farmers Who Worked on Roads, 1821.
|Article XV||Two Road Districts South of the Ridge. |
Further Roads Laid out.
Road Districts in 1836, 1 to 55.
|Article XVI||Description of Clarkson Village 1811 to 1815.|
|Article XVII||Town Elections 1820 to 1825.|
|Article XVIII||The Blossom Cemetery and Its Inmates.|
|Article XIX||East Clarkson (Garland) Cemetery.|
|Article XX||The Kenyon Cemetery.|
|Article XXI||The (West) Clarkson Cemetery.|
|Article XXII||Personal Sketches of William Ireland, Thomas Chriswell, Elon Lee, Moody Freeman. |
Clarkson Postmasters 1820 to 1889.
Old Cemetery (North Hamlin)
|Article XXIII||List of Clarkson "Olds"|
|Article XXIV||General Elections 1822 to 1827.|
|Article XXV||General Elections 1827 to 1836.|
|Article XXVI||General Elections 1837 to 1841. |
No Records 1841 to 1852, when Hamlin Was Set off.
Matters Other than Elections Voted Town Meetings 1841 to 1852.
Various Places of General Elections.
|Article XXVII||Places of Town Elections, Hotels, 1820 to 1853. |
|Article XXVIII||Three New Road Districts, June 19, 1824. |
Various Town Meeting Provisions 1826, 1831, 1836.
Town Elections after Separation of Hamlin 1853.
Special Town Meeting April 1837 for Vote on Excise Licenses.
|Article XXIX||Cemetery at Kane's Corners. |
|Article XXX||Account of the Family of Alanson Thomas after Whom Thomasville Was Named. |
Earned. Salisbury's Corners.
It is our purpose to publish a history of Clarkson, mainly its early history, but giving also an account of Clarkson village, Redman's Corners, Garland, and the Moore Settlement including Rice's Corners. In making this history we shall to some extent use the histories hitherto published, and add facts otherwise obtained, hoping by a systematic arrangement of events to present a clear and more perfect history than now exists. At best but few of the people have access to the published histories, and not one in ten are in possession of much valuable information that largely concerns their locality.
In 1892 the people hope to celebrate the four hundredth anniversary of the discovery of America by Columbus. With that discovery begins the written and published history of this country, and. no modern local history is complete without an outline antecedent history connecting the past with the present.
The first settlement was made in the now State of New York in the locality where the city of New York stands, and from that locality the growing population radiated out in all directions, but first to those points accessible by boats. Thus the newcomers located at first along the Hudson River, and numerously in the vicinity of Albany, at the head of navigation for vessels of considerable size. What later became Albany, Saratoga, Rensselaer and adjacent counties, were settled before the "wild west" of the present Western New York had ever been explored. Then this section of Western New York was a wilderness inhabited by the Seneca tribe of Indians - the genuine original native Americans. They have left records of their occupancy in mounds, stone axes, etc. Not many years ago a human skeleton was unearthed in the road near the Clarkson Cemetery, as it was being graded down, and it was generally believed to have been that of an Indian.
The tide of settlers finally set toward the westward, and up they came through the Mohawk Valley. To some extent they utilized the Mohawk River, as many of them used batteaux for the conveyance of their goods by water. In 1788 Oliver Phelps, a native of Windsor, Connecticut, and Nathaniel Gorham of Massachusetts, purchased 5,000,000 acres of land for which they agreed to pay $100,000 to the State. The Indians objected to the obtruding pioneers, sometimes with scalping knives, and to pacify them Phelps & Gorham agreed to give them $5,000 and an annuity of $500.
In the year 1789 a road two rods wide was cut through the forests from Fort Stanwix in the Mohawk Valley to the Seneca Lake. The whole purchase made by Phelps & Gorham was laid out in townships, and Ontario County included the whole "Genesee country" as it was called. The first of the oncoming settlers located at Geneva and Canandaigua. In 1791 they had extended to Geneseo, and a town by that name embraced all of the State to the westward. On April 9th of that year a town election was held at Canawagus.
In 1789 Peter Shaeffer and family came from Pennsylvania and located near the present Scottsville, paying $2.50 per acre for a farm. At this time Bloomfield had become quite an important settlement. Up to the year 1803 the only post office west of Geneva was at Canandaigua. In 1799 Caledonia, which included what subsequently became Le Roy, had a number of settlers. In 1801 the Triangular Tract, covering 87,000 acres, which reaches from Le Roy to Lake Ontario, and includes the present Hamlin, Clarkson, Sweden and a part of Bergen, was laid out, and the same year a land office was opened at Buttermilk Falls, at or near the location of Le Roy.
March 30, 1802, the town of Gates was formed from a portion of the town of Geneseo. This town then included all of the section west of the Genesee River. The town of Murray was formed from the town of Gates, (and was at first called Northampton,) April 8, 1808.
Thus it appears that for seven years after the Triangular Tract was surveyed it was in the town of Gates. It will assist an understanding of what is to follow by forestalling history in the statement that Sweden was cut out of Murray in 1813, and Clarkson (including the present Hamlin) in 1819.
Most of the foregoing history applies to all Western New York. About the year 1800 a settlement had been made at Sodus Bay to what became a part of Wayne County. Soon after pioneers located in the vicinity of what is now Lewiston.
We come now to the history of the first settlement, and subsequent development of what in later years became the town of Clarkson. As we have before noted, a land office for the sale of all the land included in the Triangular Tract was opened at what later became Le Roy. In that office a record of the sales made was kept, and the sales from the opening of the office in 1801 till 1809, both years included, year by year, were as follows, for land in what became the town of Clarkson, which included the present Hamlin.
In 1801 six lots were sold, in the Triangular Tract, but none in the Clarkson section.
In 1802 nine lots were sold, but none in Clarkson.
In 1803 six lots were sold, and one to Moody Freeman - who was the first purchaser in Clarkson.
In 1804 ten lots were sold, and James Sayre and Elijah Blodgett bought in Clarkson.
In 1805 there appears to have been greater activity in sales, and twenty-six lots were sold, eight in Clarkson, viz.: John Fowle, William Davis, Simeon Daggett, David Stanton, Noah Owen, Benjamin Boyd, Isaac Farwell and John Farwell.
In 1806 there was a sale of thirty lots with the following purchasers for Clarkson: Aretus Haskell, Julius Curtis, Samuel Chiswell (perhaps Chriswell,) Ebenezer Towle, Sylvester Eldridge, Olney P. Rice and Carr Draper.
In 1807 fifty-three lots were sold, as follows to purchasers for Clarkson: Patrick Fowler, Joseph Grover, Wilber Sweet, Levi Leach, Eli Glass, William Dickenson, Anthony Case and S. Bigelow.
In 1808 sixty-six lots of the tract were sold, and the following were purchasers in Clarkson: Eldridge Farwell, John Mallory, Isaac Lincoln, Eli Mead, L. W. Udell, Robert Clark, Robert Hoy, Robert Brown, James M. Brown, Oliver Hamlin, Danforth Howe, Macy Brown, Eli Randall, Jonathan Mead and Elisha Lake.
In 1809 twenty-five lots were sold, the Clarkson buyers being: Isaac Holmes, Joshua H. Brown, Walter Billings and Orange Risden.
These lots were all sold by contract, no deeds being given at the time of sale. In 1809 there had been forty-six purchasers in the section included later by the town of Clarkson. It is possible that some of the purchases extended into that portion of the domain now included by Hamlin, but we believe not. If they did so extend, we ask any of our readers to give us the information. It is not probable that all of the purchasers named settled in Clarkson; but most of them did. Regarding some of them we have records to present later on. We ask those of our readers who know the subsequent history of any of the persons named - where they went to, lived, died, were buried, etc. - to furnish the information to add to the completeness of this history.
Our previous article was concluded with a list of those who made contracts for land in Clarkson, at the Le Roy land office, between the years 1803 and 1809.
The first question that naturally arises is how they got to their purchases, and what they did when they arrived. When the Triangular Tract was laid out, the road since known as the Lake Road - extending from Le Roy to Lake Ontario - also included in the survey. In 1803 the contract for opening this road was let to Nathan Harvey and Jeremiah Haskell, who immediately began at Le Roy, and worked toward the north. It is not stated what kind of a road, nor how much they were to receive for the job.
It Is probable that they cut out the trees for two rods in width - as that had been the way of opening roads east of Canandaigua - and then made a passable passageway for wheeled vehicles. The roots and stumps must have made the track exceedingly rough. The bridges were built by laying large logs across the streams, and then covering the logs crosswise with smaller logs and poles. They were neither handsome nor smooth structures, but were strong until weakened by age and decay. Marshy places of ground were made passable by poles laid crosswise, called "corduroy." The men building the road took their supplies with them, and lived where their work was being performed.
When the first settlers arrived at their purchases the first thing they did was to build log houses. How this was done is thus described by Elihu Church, who settled in Riga: "We put up the body of it in one day, and had it ready to move into on the fourth day. The floor was of split basswood, the roof of cedar shingles, no boards were used, and but few nails."
An open space of course had to be made for the rude buildings, and caution had to be exercised to so place them that the standing trees would not be liable to fall upon them. The trees for the log houses were cut down, and logs of nearly uniform size and the same length were used. They were notched near their ends, and made to fit fairly-close together. The openings between the logs were filled in with clay or mortar. A few specimens of the old log homes are still standing in Clarkson and Hamlin. The first of the log houses had no dividing partitions, and they were made temporarily by hanging up sheets or blankets. The house door - there was usually but one - was furnished with a wooden latch and leather latch string, and when the latch string hung out it was a sign of welcome. In modern times to say "the latch string hangs out," is a figurative expression of welcome of the old fashioned kind.
A rude house having been built, the next thing in order was clearing the land of-trees, and this was a work that was continued for many years. All of the living had to come somehow from the land - by the sale of ashes from the burnt trees, and the grown crops. And it is not altogether legendary that at times the most common necessaries of life were scarcely obtainable. It has been related by one of the pioneers, that he and his family had oxen and cows, but no provisions, and they lived for some time on milk, venison and fish - a curious bill of fare; yet others may have fared much worse. Wild game was abundant, and fish were numerous in all fair sized streams. Of the wild game wolves were plentiful and had such if a liking for mutton that sheep could not be kept; and that bears had such an affectionate and embracing regard for pigs that they were safe only in bear-proof log pens. Those were the days of the "good old times," as brought down to us by the enchantment of a long distance view, and they were enjoyed by the pioneer, who became accustomed to their kind of life; but such living now would be a severe ordeal for even the poorest of the people.
Our previous sketch gave a list of land purchasers up to and including the year 1809. In 1810 there came to Clarkson James Moore, Adam Moore, Henry Moore, Silas Taft, Simeon B. Nathan, John Daggett, William B.. Warden, Henry Grinell, Isaac Randall, Waiter Billings, Dea. Joel Palmer and Dr. Nathaniel Rowell. Dr. Abel Baldwin visited at Clarkson in 1810, but did not move there until the following year. The following is an account of his experience, a little defective in some respects, as given in Turner's history:
"When I moved into the country in 1811 with my family we were ferried over the Genesee River at Rochester; the Ridge Road was only cut out wide enough for a wagon track; the streams were crossed by means of log bridges. Upon the present site of Clarkson Village there were three log houses, and in all perhaps thirty acres of land cleared. James Sayre was the pioneer of that locality, in fact the first settler on the Ridge, in what is now Clarkson and Murray, and I think Parma. He had selected this spot on account of a fine spring, before anything was known of a continuous Ridge Road. Sayre, who had taken up-considerable land, sold his contracts and removed. Besides him I found here David Forsyth, who remained here until 1849, when he removed to Michigan. Deacon Joel Palmer had just commenced tanning and currying in a rude and primitive establishment, the first on the Ridge Road. Dr. Nathaniel Rowell had preceded me a few months, and was in practice among the new settlers.. Eldridge Farwell had located here, but soon removed, and became the pioneer ofwwhat is now Clarendon. West of the Corners, on the Ridge, John and Isaac Farwell, brothers of Eldridge, had settled. In all of the Ridge, in what is now Clarkson and Murray, Moody Freeman was the pioneer. He was from Hanover, N. Y. He made his solitary home two miles north of the Corners. There was in Clarkson north of the Ridge besides Freeman in 1811 Erastus Haskell, who had taken up land upon which there were salt springs, where he set up a few kettles and was boiling salt for the new settlers. Haskell was a captain of militia in the War of 1812, and was at the sortie of Fort Erie. Stephen Baxter settled in the neighborhood in 1811, and also engaged in salt boiling. John Nowlan also settled in the Freeman neighborhood. A log schoolhouse had been erected, and a school was in operation. When I came in 1811."
The historian doubtless made some errors in the publication of Dr. Baldwin's sketch, for the Doctor was a very clear-headed man. Moody Freeman was undoubtedly the first settler, and James Sayre the next. In 1811 there must have been more than three log houses at the then Murray Corners, and very much more than thirty acres of cleared land, as Dr. Baldwin was made to state. By 1809 there had been over forty purchasers of Clarkson lands, and if not more than half of them came they should have made considerable progress by 1811, the period of which Dr. Baldwin spoke. From 1809 the land sales continued, and with no interruption until the opening of the War of 1812, when for two years the sales were greatly reduced. In 1810 twelve families moved into the town, of which the heads of but two are named in the Le Roy land office records up to 1809, so that before 1811 there was a material increase of population besides the purchasers first named.
A name not hitherto mentioned is that of Henry Mc Call, who came into town about 1810, and opened a store at the Corners. Charlotte Cummings is credited with being the first teacher, and that she taught the first school in 1812. It is probable that a. school was opened earlier, as the early settlers believed in schools, and Dr. Baldwin states that when he came in 1811 there was a log school house. There is some discrepancy in the early history as to the first schoolhouse, one authority saying that it was built in 1812.
In 1811 there moved into the town Stephen Baxter and Joel Palmer. The fact should be kept in mind that the present Clarkson was a part of the town of Murray until 1819, and after being set off from Murray until 1852 included all of Hamlin. Thus it is probable that some of the persons named settled in that part of the town which subsequently became Union and then Hamlin.
Isaac B. Williams came to the town in 18ll or 1812, a blacksmith by trade, and built the first frame house, which stood where the brick hotel stands. Lewis Swift came in 1812. Joshua Fields followed in 1813, having stopped for a. time at Bergen. Hiel Brockway built a hotel in 1816. The same year Isaac Allen removed to the town. About the same time there came James M. Casson, Abijah Sayre, John Chapman, Perry Nichols, Josiah Randall and John Nowlan. Joshua Greene was also an early settler, but the time of his coming is not fixed by any date at hand.= As before stated, we hope to obtain a brief history of all of the early settlers named, and publish the same in a concluding article. Much of this history has already been obtained, and it is coming.
Gustavus Clark, whose history we shall give later on, came to Clarkson in 1815. In Turner's history the following interesting sketch of Mr. Clark's experience is given:
"When I came to Clarkson in 1815 the Ridge Road was but little traveled for want of bridges. My first load of goods broke most of the bridges down from Rochester to Clarkson, and the team was obliged to return to Lima via the south road and Le Roy. That road had been opened before the Ridge Road was traveled at all. My first principal business was to pay part goods and part cash for black salts and potash. Henry Mc Call had been first engaged in mercantile business in Clarkson, and Joshua Field had also been merchandising here. James Seymour was the successor of Field. All of these had been engaged in the manufacture of potash; in fact that was the staple production of all of this region. It was the first available means that the new settlers had to pay for store goods, or to raise a little money. It was a great help to them, and I hardly know how they would have got along without it. It was a period when but few of the settlers had raised any grain to sell. The new settlers would put up a few rough leaches, and generally make black salts. Those who were strong handed enough, and could raise kettles, would make potash. Upon lands where beech, maple and elm predominated, the ashes would almost pay for clearing the land. Many times when a new settler was under the necessity of raising money, or stood in need of store trade he would go into the forest, chop down the trees, roll them together, and burn them for the ashes alone, with no reference to land clearing. The proceeds of ashes have supplied many a log cabin in this region with the common necessaries of life; in the absence of which there would have been destitution. Our potash was taken to the mouth of the Genesee River and shipped to Montreal. I have sold it in Montreal for as high a price as $305 per tun. The Ridge Road was much improved soon after 1815 by the erection of bridges over the streams. A post route was established from Canandaigua to Lewiston in November, 1815. At first the mail was carried in a small wagon twice a week. In 1820 daily coaches were put upon the route; travel rapidly increased, and before the canal was completed there were carriages almost continually in sight."
Thus it appears that as late as in 1815 the Ridge Road was in an unsafe condition - so unsafe that the team bringing a load for Mr. Clark had to return by the way of Le Roy.. In this connection it may also properly be stated that the Ridge Road through to Lewiston was not opened for several years after the settlements began, and not until long after the so-called "Buffalo Road" was in use -the eastern part, if not all of it, in 1810. In 1812 soldiers were marched from Rochester to Clarkson. from Clarkson to Le Roy, and from Le Roy to Buffalo and Lewiston, because there was no other open land route.
In the published recollections of Dr. Baldwin reference was made to salt boiling by Aretas Haskell. We have learned by inquiry that he was located on what is known as the John Perry farm. Salt was also made on the John Hoy farm, near Rice's Corners; and on the Baxter farm, a short distance north of the North Star schoolhouse. The salt springs were called "salt licks," because the deer came to them to lick for salt. The price of salt was one dollar per bushel.
In continuing a list of the pioneer settlers the fact should be kept in mind that the domain of Clarkson included the present town of Hamlin. It is also well to know that a man who was a voter in 1821 would, if alive, be now not less than ninety-one years of age. Persons of the same name now living are children or grand children of the pioneers. We have been asked if certain persons, "boys" of from 50 to 60, were the first settlers. Of course not, though some of them know much of the experience of the later pioneer life.
In 1811 there came Alanson Thomas, and a German named Strunk. In 1814 James Baxter moved into the town. In 1816 there lived in Clarkson Theodore Ellis, John Phelps and Calvin Green. Before 1818 there lived in the town Michael Nowlan, John Knapp, Caleb Clark, James Clark, William Clark, Albert Salisbury, Howard Manley, Adin Manley and Esi Twitchel. Before 1820 there also came John M. Casson, James Randall, E. Cook, Frederick R. Stewart, William Cook, Billa Cook, Samuel A. Perry, Jonathan Cobb, Ariel Chase, William Groves, Ezekiel Harmon, Robert Walker, William Lamport, Worden F. Perry, John Redman, 2nd, came in 1819 or '20. As in regard to the persons previously named, we hope to obtain some information as to the individual history of each person.
Henry R. Selden, Samuel L. Selden, John Bowman and Col. Simeon B. Jewett, all prominent men in their day, came to the town later than 1820. A brief record of them will be given.
In 1816, at the formation of the Presbyterian Church Society, the names of the following ladies are given, some of whom were undoubtedly the wives or daughters of the men hitherto named: Mary Perry, Polly Day, Polly Rice, Phebe Palmer, Patience Ellis, Mary Mc Cracken, Desire Whelam, Laura White, Anna Swift, Sally Reed, Charlotte Cummings and Betsey Phelps. Miss Cumming was the first teacher. No man's name appears in the records before 1820 of Day, Ellis, Mc Cracken, Wheland, White or Reed. In the names given is Patience, Desire and Polly - names much more common way back than at present. The favorite early names for females were Prudence, Charity and Hope, and they were understood to indicate certain hope or virtues and characteristics in the lives of those on whom the names were bestowed. There were fewer named Welcome, Faith, Love, Mercy, Prudence and Temperance; but all of these and similar names were identified with the families of from fifty to seventy-five years ago. Probably some of them proved misnomers - Prudence not proving prudent, Hope not proving hopeful, and Mercy not proving merciful.
We have stated previously that in 1815 a mail route was established between Rochester and Lewiston. The next year the first post-office was opened in Clarkson, and Dr. Abel Baldwin was appointed postmaster.,
The first sawmill was built in the town by Eldridge Farwell. Later he built a grist-mill. Samuel Church built a grist-mill in Riga in 1811, and for a year or two the Clarkson peopie took their grist to his mill to be ground. At an early date Ebenezer Tole built a small grist-mill near Ladd's Corners, which was sometimes operated by water power, and sometimes by hand-power. Dr. Baldwin built a sawmill on the stream that runs from Brockport northeast from Clarkson Corners. Lewis Swift, the pioneer, built a carding mill on the same stream, near the sawmill mentioned. Before grist-mills were started the settlers pounded their grain into flour in hollows cut in stumps. Before sawmills were running split basswood was used for making doors to the log houses, and for floors, when that luxury was provided. Many of the first log houses had no floor other than the earth, and no chimneys. The smoke went meandering through the openings, of which here were no lack.
At this early date the minister was looked up to, and naturally, with reverence, and often with awe. The school teacher took second rank among the important personages, and next came the doctor. The lawyer appeared quite late, and then litigation grew apace. The really most useful person at the early period of which we write was the carpenter, particularly after sawmills had been started. He erected the buildings. When the first baby appeared in a new household, if it was to have a cradle the carpenter was called upon to construct it, and if it was not very ornamental it was so strong that the little shaver could not kick out the end-boards. A few of them have until the present day survived kickings, cartings, fires and gales. When a person died the neighborhood carpenter constructed the coffin, and like the child's cradle it was strong but net ornamental. The carpenter also made tables, bedsteads, the chests in general use, cupboards, etc. No man in the early settlements performed labors of greater utility.
When fire places and chimneys were built, there was usually built in connection an oven of stone or brick. Most of the old farm houses contain these ovens, which, before the coming in use of stoves, were used for baking bread, cakes, and the roasting of meat. The fire-places were spacious, and each was supplied with an iron crane, a trammel, hooks, and often short sections of chain with a hook on each end. Many of our older readers know all about them. The crane and appendages were all made useful in suspending the kettles, pots or pan cake griddle over the blazing wood fires, by which most of the food was cooked, and those doing the cooking were themselves often more than half roasted. So hot were the fires of the fireplaces that many persons roasted fowls by hanging them in front, and turning them around until they were done. The ovens became quite useful In cooking small articles in front of wood fires. Potatoes were generally roasted by placing them in hot ashes near the live coals.
When persons were about to engage in house keeping the outfit was called a "setting out," which usually consisted of pots and kettles for the fireplace, some crockery, a small amount of wooden ware, and a bed or two, the total often not costing more than; $50. That is the way the pioneers began. Most of the first settlers brought all of their household goods and family in one wagon or sleigh, and the furniture did not crowd even a small log house. They had no carpets, no bureaus, no lamps; and of course such things as sewing machines, organs and pianos were not even dreamed of. Mops and candlesticks were among the most used and useful of articles. Most conspicuous as adornments were the gun over the fireplace held up by deers' horns, and strings of dried apples, pumpkins, and herbs overhead.
The first settlers had but precious little money, and of necessity had largely to resort to a barter trade.. In one case six bushels of wheat were given for one gallon of whiskey, and whiskey was one of the first of manufactured products - the small distilleries being established long before churches were built. Elihu Church gave a bushel of wheat for a bail to a pail. One man worked six months in payment for a suit of clothes. Ashes were taken to the potasheries and exchanged for store orders; the goods were paid for in black salt; and the merchants realized upon their potash in the eastern markets. These black salts or potash were refined to some extent and became pearlash an article generally used at an early day for raising bread, etc. The potash kettles, holding from fifty to sixty gallons, cost at first about $40, and it was only the nabobs of the period who were able to possess them - that is nabob in comparison with the poorer men who could not rise to the distinction of such ownership. A pair of stogy boots cost $7, and it is stated as an unquestioned fact that nearly all of the people, men, women and children went barefoot during the summer season. Elihu Church reports drawing wheat from Riga to Charlotte and selling it at 31¢ per bushel. Under the conditions named some of the pioneers succeeded excellently, some moderately, some just failed of success, and some were dead failures - just as their successors have done and been since.. To succeed was to achieve success by the strictest economy, by privations, and through undaunted fortitude.
We have mentioned the wolves and bears that gave a cordial reception to the sheep and hogs of the pioneers. The wolves were so destructive that in 1815 the settlers all turned out and had a wolf hunt, and with guns, horns and shouting drove them southward from the Lake to beyond Caledonia and Le Roy. Before that drive the deer were at times chased by wolves in to the barnyards of the farmers. The deer were so plenty that one man killed six in one day. Black squirrels were so plenty that as many as thirty were at times counted on a single tree, and they were very destructive of the corn crop. In 1812 the pigeons had a roost near Rochester, and there were millions of them. There were a few panthers; but neither they nor the other wild animals molested persons unless crowded into a fight - they always ran away if they had a fair chance. Wild ducks nested along the shores of the Lake and streams every spring. Not until 1817 did the crows come, and about that time the ravens and turkey buzzards left. A bounty was paid for killing wolves, and some men with a taste for trapping and hunting realized a considerable income from that source. In the town of Greece, especially along the River below the lower falls, there were many rattle-snakes, and a bounty of three cents per head led to their destruction. Poisonous snakes have not abounded in this section.
Among the early experiences it is related that in 1815 it cost $4.50 per hundred pounds to cart stocks of goods from Albany to Clarkson. A party of thirty-eight persons were twenty-one days making the journey from New Hampshire to Genesee. In 1807 wheat had been harvested by July 4th. Many of the first settlers established their homes by springs or streams of water. Some dug wells, and then followed the era of tall crotches, well sweeps, and the "old oaken bucket" that has been described pathetically in poetry and song. It was long afterward when matches for fire lighting purposes were invented, and the flint and steel and the punk were resorted to. The old flint lock guns were made to do valuable service in obtaining fire and light. A few clocks with heavy weights were in use, and an occasional English watch was owned. Hour glasses were used to some extent, but noon marks were the least expensive of the few time indicators. These reminiscences might be presented almost without limit, and they throw a clear light upon pioneer life and history; but we will suspend them, and show the forward movement of the people of the town.
It is remarkably strange that a town should be named in honor of a person regarding whom so little is known. Turner's history says it was "Named from Gen. ——— Clarkson, an extensive land owner, who gave 100 acres to the town." And that is all. Even his first name is not given, nor is any mention made of what disposal was made of the hundred acres. Subsequent historians have stolen what Turner said, but have added nothing. Perhaps some of our readers can throw additional light on this important subject.
Northampton, subsequently Gates, was the grandfather of all the towns hereabouts, and Murray was the father. How Murray was subdivided, we will now show concisely, and it is valuable history. Murray was set off from the town of Gates April 8, 1808, and then embraced all of the territory now included in the towns of Sweden, Clarkson, Hamlin, Clarendon, Murray and Kendall. The first division of the town of Murray was in April, 1813, when Sweden, including what is now Clarendon was taken off. In February, 1821, Clarendon was taken off from Sweden. In 1819 Clarkson, including the present Hamlin, was taken off from Murray. The early history of these towns is very closely interwoven, and family relations still eontinue closely allied.
Dr. Baldwin has stated in his early recollections that the first election in the town of Murray was held at the barn of Johnson Bedell, about four miles south of Brockport. No record of this election is found in the published histories, but it must have occurred between the formation of Murray in 1808, and the setting off of Sweden in 1813. The first election in Sweden as embracing Clarendon was held April 8, 1814, and in Sweden as now composed, in April, 1821.
The first election was held In the town of Clarkson on April 4, 1820, when the following officers were chosen, the list of officers varying considerable from that recently elected: Supervisor, Aretas Haskell; town clerk, Gustavus Clark; collector, E. Cook; assessors, Frederick R. Stewart, William Cook, Billa Cook; commissioners of highways, Isaac Allen, Samuel A. Perry, Jonathan Cobb; Commissioners of schools, Nathaniel Rowell, Gustavus Clark, Ariel Chase; inspectors of schools, Abel Baldwin, William Groves, Ezekiel Harmon; overseers of the poor, Eli Hanibal, Walter Billings; pound master, David Forsyth; constables, Aretas Haskell, Robert Walker, William Lamport, Worden F. Perry; sealer of weights and measures, Gustavus Clark.
The following is a complete list of supervisors from the organization of the town to the present, with date and period of service: Aretas Haskell, from 1820 to 1824; Gustavus Clark, 1824; Aretus Haskell, 1825; Abel Baldwin, 1826; William Groves, 1827 to 1829; Gustavus Clark, 1829 to 1833; Simeon B. Jewett, from 1833 to 1835; Henry Martin, from 1835 to 1837; Isaac Allen, 1837; Theodore Chapin, 1838; Jonathan Prosser, 1839; William Groves, 1840; Henry Martin, 1841 to 1843; Samuel R. S. Mather, 1843; Alphonzo Perry, 1844; Isaac Houston, 1845 to 1847; George W. Clark, 1847; James R. Thompson, 1848; James H. Warren, 1849 to 1852; George W. Estes, 1852; James H. Warren, 1853; Isaac Garrison, 1854; James H. Warren, 1855 to 1857; William P. Rice, 1857; William H. Bowman, 1858; M. A. Patterson, 1859; Cicero J. Prosser, 1860; Adam Moore, 1861 to 1863; Elias Garrison, 1863 to 1865; George W. Estes, 1865 to $67; James H. Warren, 1867 to 1874; W. L. Rockwell, 1874 to I876; John B. Snyder, 1877 to 1879; Adelbert P. Chapman, 1880 and 1881; Eli H. Gallup, 1882; Henry Allen, 1883 and 1884; William Leach, 1885 to 1887; John B. Haskell, 1888; John Prosser, 1889, John Prosser was elected March 4, 1890.
From the record book of Lewis Swift, a justice of the peace, kindly loaned us by his grandson W. H. Swift, it appears that he was chosen to office before Clarkson was set off from Murray, as his record of official services opens on Jan. 24, 1820, and the first election in Clarkson was not held until April 4 of that year. From this interesting record we shall extract some facts for the double purpose of showing how the litigation of that early day was carried on, and to fix in the town the residence of some of the pioneers whose histories have been lost to recollection.
As stated, the date of the first record is Jan. 24, 1820, a suit of Elisha Marks against Seth Byam, for the payment of a note of $2.25, dated Nov. 29, 1819. A judgment was rendered for the amount of the note, and there is added: "Received 12½¢, my cost," Ex. 19 - making a total of $2.56½. The "cost" was much less than it would be in. the year of 1890 in Justice Crary's court, and his charges are only legal.
The next day there was another suit - David Forsyth and Joel Palmer against Henry Luce, on a note for $10.08 dated Oct. 9, 1819. The costs were 31½¢, the same as in the previous suit. This suit indicates that a copartnership existed between Forsyth and Palmer.
The third suit was the same day - Phillip Boss against Elijah W. Wood, for an account of $1.50. The fees in this case was as follows: Summons 9> constable service 50, record 12½, ex. 19.
Jan. 28, there came the fourth suit - Harry Porter and Elisha Marks against Coonrad Holmes, for a balance of 50¢ on a note. The costs were the same as in the previous suit. This suit indicates that Harry Porter and Elisha Marks were partners.
The same day a suit was tried between Elisha Marks and William Wilsie, on a note for $9.82. The costs were the same as before with the addition of 12½¢ for witness.
Jan. 28, 1820, appears to have been a "court day," as eighteen cases are noted as passed upon that date. James Seyeour and Henry Seymour sued David Bennett; Gustavus Clark and James R. Gurnsey sued David Bennett; the Seymours sued Timothy Tyler; Abijah Smith sued Roswell Atchison and Aaron Van Ness. This last case was for trespass. It was once adjourned, to be held at S. Alvord's hotel, and a jury was called, but the names of the jurymen are not given. The new fees mentioned are: Venire 19, warrant 12½, jurors 75¢, probably for six of them.
The same date Ebenezer Towle sued Nicholas Hosner, Jr.; Clark & Guernsey sued Levi Talmage; the Seymours sued Jonathan Simons; Harry Porter and Elisha Marks sued Cyrus Barker; the same sued David Bates; the same sued John Johnson; Francis Farwell sued Silas Barker; the Seymours sued Samuel Perry; William Ostrander sued Robert Ostrander; Clark & Guernsey sued Calvin Freeman.
In the record there appears the following names, showing a residence as early as 1820: Robert W. Palmer, Walter Phelps, Charles Darby, Nathan Wright, Abel Wait, Josiah Cobb, William Alvord, Nathaniel Daggett, Luman Johnson, Francis Ruby, Truman Smith, David Bates, James Bates, William James, David Locke, Seth Pattae, Peter Eastman, Samuel G. Lewis, Barney Stowell, Sylvester Pease, Sr., Gideon Pease, Ashabel Brown, Stephen Eastman, Joseph Brace, Hiel Brockway, John H. Bushnell, Clarkson F. Brooks, Joseph Vickery, Turner Fillotson, Isaac B. Williams, Samuel Day, Henry Wilcox, Nathaniel G. Hyde, Peletiah Rogers, Reuben Stickney and Thomas Talcott.
A suit of Samuel G. Lewis against Barney Stowell, Gideon Pease and Sylvester Pease, was tried Feb. 8, 1820, before the justice and a jury of eleven, "both parties agreeing to dismiss Daniel Wait." The eleven jurymen were paid $1.37½, and seven witnesses 87½¢.
Clarkson seems to have been the "seat of justice," for the surrounding country, for the names of many Sweden people appear in the list of litigants. We continue the names of persons who are recorded as appearing in Justice Swift's court: Ira Gilbert, Henry Chriswell, Julius Cornstock, Jacob Baragar, Benjamin Wood, John Mallory, Silas Fordham, Carr Wilber, Alvan Dibble, Oran Lee, Nathaniel Rowell, Warner Pierce, David Locke, Sylvester Ferris, Thomas Talcott, Levi Talmage, Witter Steward, William Groves, Darius Ingalls, Silas Ball, Henry Luce, Robert S. Perry, Phillip Brown, Day E. Pattee, James A. Dunmore, Joshua Vincent, Luther Burns, Levi Webster, Jesse Bentley, William Munson, Benjamin Chase, David Williams, Joshua Rockwood, Samuel Randall, Jesse Matteson, James Lake, Hiram Mc Craken, Henry Brown, Horatio Pierson, John Blodgett, David Williams, Samuel Chadsey, Henry Mc Call, Nathan Townsend, Leonard Kingsbury, Thomas Christy, John Farwell, Jr., Theodore Ellis, Reuben Moon, John Parker, Salmon Standish, Harbert Wheland, Charles Bennett, Anson Hammond, Seeley Potter, Ambrose Ferguson, Justus Kendrick, Henry Knox, Lionel W. Udell, Asabel Baxter, Robert Brown, John Randall, Moses T. Mann, Samuel Bates, Clark Thomas, John D. Phillips, Sylvester Baker, Simeon Palmer, John Sprague, John Bosworth, Daniel Avery, Erastus Lawrence, Justus Hendrick, Jehiel Davis, Asa H. Hill, Isaac Colby, Richard Rollin, Joseph Johnson, James Ladd, Ezra D. Brown, Eilas Nichols, John Lambert, Nathaniel Daggett, Chauncey Burham, Stephen Baxter, James Maxfield, Broadstreet Spafford, Hubbard Rice, John Blake, Joshua Field and Daniel Williams.
Witter Steward and Joshua Field composed the firm of Steward & Field, which firm on March 17, 1820, sued David Williams for $5.75. A judgment was given for the plaintiffs in the amount claimed and costs. In the record of the case this statement is made: "Defendant pleads exemption of body," - recalling the fact that years ago persons could be imprisoned for debt. Most of the suits arose out of indebtedness, and usually were for small amounts. Some of the persons who in later years became quite wealthy were sued for small amounts. Reuben Stickney was sued for the payment of a note of $3.28: John Blodgett for $3.11, etc. The fashion of being "hard up" runs back at least to 1820. The suits were largely for the collection of store notes and accounts, the plaintiffs in many cases being the Seymours, Clark & Guernsey, William & Uriah James, Palmer & Forsyth, and William James, who succeeded to the James firm.
Giving Squire Swift's record a rest, we present a few out of many personal historical sketches.
Asa Clark, the father of Gustavus Clark, lived in Avon until 1830, when he removed to the town of Murray, and died there in 1834, aged 76 years. The son Gustavus came to Clarkson in 1815, where he later formed a copartnership with James K. Guernsey, the firm conducting a general store of the period. He built the brick house a little west of the church. At the town election held April 4, 1820, he was chosen town clerk, commissioner of schools, and pound keeper - thus performing a variety of public duties. For five terms he represented the town as supervisor, the last time in 1832. The family removed Ito Buffalo, where Mr. Clark died Feb. 17, 1871, aged 76 years. His remains were buried in the Clarkson Cemetery. His widow died at Clarkson Sent. 17, 1871, aged 76 years, and her remains were buried by the side of those of her husband.
Dea. Joel Palmer was born at North Brantford, Conn., in 1788; removed to Lima, N. Y. in 1808, and from Lima to Clarkson in February 1811. He bought out James Sayre, and lived for several years in a log house. In 1827 he built the brick house in which he lived until he died March 24, 1877, and was aged 89 years. His wife died in 1859. His children were Joel B., Albert H., John, Fanny, Justus and Russell. He carried on the tanning business until he died. His remains and those of his wife were buried in the Clarkson Cemetery.
The name of Andrew Wentworth does not appear among those of the first settlers; but from the following sketch of his history, published in the Repuhlic about the time he died, he undoubtedly came in 1815. That sketch says that he was born at Berwick, Maine, Aug. 8, 1784; that in February, 1815, he married Ruth Spencer, of Sweden, and moved into Clarkson, that part which afterwards became Hamlin. He died April 19, 1879, aged 94 years. At that date his children were given as Mrs. Charles Randall, Mrs. Marcelon Smith, Mrs. Henry Billings, Mrs. Horn, Charles, Mrs. Harriet Noyes and Mrs. Mary Austin.
In Clarkson at an early date, as in other communities, there were births, deaths and marriages, and provision had to be made for these important occurrences. We have told how the carpenter made the cradle for the infant and the coffin for the dead. Burial places had to be provided, and before graveyards had been established and sometimes afterward, a little place on the homestead was set aside for the interment of members of the family. These little family burial places may be seen all through the state and throughout New England, from whence most of the early settlers came. There are some of them in Clarkson, to which reference will be made in connection with personal sketches. There are now in Clarkson four public graveyards,, viz: The Catholic, near Brockport; the Clarkson, about a mile west of the village; the Garland, about half a mile west of the Garland Hotel; and one on the Harden farm, about a mile and a half north of Rice's Corners. The cemeteries in Hamlin, which up to 1852 were in Clarkson, are located as follows: the Blossom Cemetery, on the Ladd Road next the Clarkson line; an old graveyard on the Redman Road,, a short distance north of Sandy Creek; and the Kenyon Cemetery in. the northwest part of the town west of County Line, but near it; there is a graveyard opposite the Clark place on the Ridge Road in Murray, and another a short distance west of East Kendall in Kendall. In these graveyards most of the pioneer settlers were buried.
In the early times there were no cemetery sextons, no undertakers, and no hearses. When a person died the neighborhood carpenter made a coffin, some person was employed to dig the grave, and when the funeral was held the corpse encoffined was carried in a lumber wagon or lumber sleigh from the place of death to the graveyard, and then the coffin was let down into the grave by the aid of ropes. No outside box was used to encase the coffin. Usually some straw was thrown on top of the coffin, and then earth on the straw. It was all plain, simple, and inexpensive, and void of ostentation.
At first all of the public graveyards were free for the use of all persons requiring a burial place, and each family selected any part of a ground not previously occupied. It was not until along in the forties that graveyards were incorporated in western New York, after which lots were sold at a small price, usually from $5 to $10. In many of the graveyards biers were kept for use in conveying the coffins from the street to the graves. There was one in the Blossom Cemetery but a few. years ago. These olden time biers have been embalmed in hymns, and in former times were the subject of pathetic references.
Gravestones did not come into use in this section until about 1825, and those before 1830 are now exceedingly rare. The first stones used were quite thin, and many of them have been broken and disappeared. There were burials at Brockport, where the Baptist Church stands, as early as 18l2. When the present church was built, the remains there were disinterred and placed in the present cemetery, and the gravestones were reset there. Now the oldest date to be found in the. cemetery is July 31, 1824, recording the date of death of a child of William Mead, There was a stone with an older date, but it appears to have been removed.
The Plank Road Company was organized in 1848. Capital stock of $18,000. First officers: Joseph A. Holmes, president; Simeon B. Jewett, secretary; Abel Baldwin, treasurer; J. A. Holmes, S. B. Jewett, A. Baldwin, L. H. Johnson, Romeyn Boughton, William Barry, Andrew Wentworth, Job Whipple and Adin Manley, directors. The road extended from Brockport to three-fourths of a mile south of "Thomas Mills," on the east fork, and on the west fork to the road by the Seymour sawmill, and through that road to the Redman Road - the whole a length of twelve miles. The road was abandoned in April 1868 when the last toll gate (between Clarkson and Brockport Village) was removed. The property at the time of abandoning was valued at $500, all of the balance having been sunk in the enterprise. The officers at the closing were A. J. Randall, president; L. H Johnson, secretary; A. D. Raymond, treasurer; A. J. Randall, L. B. Johnson, A. D. Raymond, S. B. Jewett and H. B. Raymond, directors. Mr. Johnson had for some time been manager for the Company and he was a heavy loser.
We herewith present more sketches of personal history, which as a record will prove very valuable now and henceforth, be sides being quite interesting.
Simeon B. Jewett was born in Connecticut in 1801, and came to Clarkson in 1823. He was a prominent lawyer and a noted Democrat. For several years he was in company with Henry B. Seldon. He died July 25, 1869, aged 68 years. His widow, Fancy Jewett, died April 28, 1883, aged 76 years. Both were buried in the Clarkson Cemetery.
Joshua Field was born at Saybrook, Conn, in 1785, removed to Bergen in 1811. Was a soldier in the War of 1812; after the war became a merchant at Clarkson and lived in a house that stood on what is now the Garrison farm- He removed to Brockport in 1822 and engaged in building. He died in Brockport and is buried in the Brockport Cemetery.
John Blodgett came from Granville, Conn, in 1816 and located near the present Blodgett Mills, and where he bought a mill. We have not ascertained the date of his death. Lucy Blodgett his widow, died April 4, 1877, aged 81 years.
Lemuel Haskell was in no way related to Erastus Haskell, an active man at a very early period. Lemuel Haskell removed in to what became Clarendon in 1817. Two years later he removed to Clarkson, where on March 5, 1824, he was married to Susan H. Spofford. Mr. Haskell by trade was a mason, and he built many of the first brick buildings in the town. His wife died June 11, 1879, aged 87 years. He died December 3, 1881, aged 85 years. Both were buried in the Clarkson Cemetery.
Ambrose Sanford, a well known farmer, died December 20, 1881, aged 76 years, and was buried in the Clarkson Cemetery.
Hiel Brockway, who built a mill in Clarkson on the Sandy Creek where it crosses the Redman Road, and which became known as "Brockway Mills," came to Sweden in 1817 and bought land on what is now the west side of Main Street for $13 per acre. He came from Phelpstown, Ontario County, N. Y., and brought his family of twelve children in a covered lumber wagon. He died in 1842, aged 67 years, and was buried in the Brockport Cemetery. He was a very active man, and prominently identified with the-founding of Brockport, but we speak of him only to show his connection with the history of Clarkson.
Rev. Enos Marshall, a celebrated clergyman, died August 21, 1878, aged 83 years. His widow, Mrs. Helen D. Marshall died December 18, 1878, aged 70 years. Both were buried in the Clarkson Cemetery..
Gideon Holmes was an early resident of whom we have no record, except that he died March 16, 1863, aged 87 years. Perhaps Mrs. Euphemia Holmes, mother of Mrs. James W. Mc Bain, who died December 22, 1875, aged 88 years was his widow.
Wright Spencer, father of Mrs. Isaac Palmer, came from Vermont in 1832. He died where Mr. Gallop lives on January 9, 1867, aged 79 years. Betsey Spencer, his widow, died January 9, 1875, aged 82 years.
Aristarchus Champion, for a time the owner of much land, but never a resident, was well known. He died at Rochester, September 7, 1871, aged 90 years.
In the plainness and simplicity inseparable from early pioneer life there were but few of the modern accessories of courtship - the neatly fitted parlors, concerts, excursions, picnics, and last but perhaps not least the supplies of ice cream and confectionery. There were, the meetings incidental to work, a common attendance at prayer meetings, singing schools, church services,, and an occasional, dance. Some or all of these occasions of public gathering were utilized in love making, and life engagements were readily formed. A log house with but one room, and that room used as kitchen, parlor, bedroom and sitting room, did not afford much opportunity for a wedding display, had a display been desirable. As a rule, with rare exceptions, up to 1825, there, was no attempt at having a grand wedding ceremony. It comes down in history that the bridegroom often. went for his bride on horseback, and when the marriage had been performed returned, with her to his home, both riding one horse. The clergyman of the neighborhood usually performed the marriage ceremony, and was paid $1 or $2 for "his damages" - the word "damage" being used as synonymous with reward or compensation. There was no donation of jewelry; lamps, glassware and kindred articles, as now~a-days. The bride, if she was a "smart girl," had before provided the bedding, table cloths, towels, a large quantity of stockings of her own knitting, and she expected to be a "help meet" along the journey of life. The husband, if not a "poor coot," was able to provide the small amount of necessary furniture, and pots and kettles.
There were some marriages in the early times, as at present, not by the clergymen. These are some from the record of 'Squire Swift: Feb. l4, 1820, Curtis Hale to Clarissa Darby. April 9, 1829, Anson Castle to Sophronia Porter. Jan. 7, 1821, Luman Johnson to Eliza Mc Niffin. March 25, 1821, Sylvester Pease to Lovina Powers. March 2, 1823, Godfrey Clare to Roxa Begle. April 5, 1823, Asa Howe to Widow ----- Faling. July --, 1823, Elias Field to Abigail Delano. Sept. 7, 1823, Christopher Clare to Caroline Pratt. May 20, 1824, Maj. John Farwell 2nd to Polly Barnett. Jan. 23, 1827, Reeder W. Lawrence to Alice Isham. August 4, 1827, Russell E. Williams to Nancy Randall.
The foregoing apparently include all of the marriage ceremonies performed by Justice Swift during a period of seven years. If his wedding fees were correspondingly as small as his regular fees as justice, his income from this source must have been small.
Long before the division of the town of Clarkson, the Fourierite system was experimented with at what was then known as Thomas' Mills, in later years as Thomasville, and now as North Hamlin. The following is a very perfect history:
In December, 1843, an organization was formed to carry into execution what was known as the Fourier system - a system of co-operative labor and joint ownership. It was a stock association also, and some paid for shares in cash, and others put in horses, cattle, farm tools, etc. The association bargained for the mill property of Alanson Thomas - containing a saw mill and gristmill; a tract of land belonging to Greig, of Canandaigua; and 1,400 acres of Richmonds, residing in New York City; The officers of the association were: President, Thomas Pound; secretary, Dr. E. A. Thelar; treasurer, George Cannon; finance committee, Henry S. Randall, Samuel Porter and Simeon Daggett. The association numbered about four hundred. In the spring of 1844 building on a large scale was carried on, and in a short time a house had been built for the chief officer, about forty rods south of where the store of Mr. Hovey stands, since rebuilt and now owned by Edwin Carpenter. In connection with this house a dining hall was built so large that all of the people belonging to the place could eat at once, and all were served with the same food from a common supply. The dwellings were roughly built, in long lines running north and south from the main house, and from the ends of the lines eastward across the Lake Road - the main house and most of the smaller ones being on the west side of the road. These houses, except when separated by the road, were all connected one with the other, as in a block, but each family had a house by itself. The food of the people was obtained at the common dining hall, as previously indicated. The means of the association ran short, there were disagreements regarding the management, and by July of the same year, (1844), the association broke up. Before the breaking up the association was visited by Charles A. Dana, now editor of the N. Y. Sun, who spent two days there, and while there lectured. Litigation followed the breaking up, and most of the real estate passed back into the hands of the previous owners. The Randall connected with this enterprise was not the first settler by the same name, but the man who a few years ago carried on blacksmithing at Clarkson village. The Simeon Daggett mentioned probably, was the early settler by the name. Dr. Theler is reputed to have been a very bright man, who after leaving Thomasville, went to Panama, Colombia, and established a newspaper called the Panama Star. That paper Is still published as the Star and Herald.
In the main the brief sketches are very accurate, being largely derived from obituary notices printed in the Republic during the past thirty-three and a half years. Any errors of importance will be cheerfully corrected, and additional information of value will be received with pleasure.
Jonathan Prosser was born at Westerlo, Albany County, N. Y. April 17, 1791, was married Dec. 28, 1816 to Phoebe Marvin at Athens, N.Y., came to Clarkson. In December 1817, and first lived on the Fred. Nellis farm. He was supervisor in 1839. It Mrs. Prosser died Sept. 16, 1873, and Mr. Prosser died July 22, 1870, aged 89 years. Both were buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery.
Jonathan Cobb lived on the Ridge opposite the Fred. Nellis house when he first came to the town. Later he lived in a frame house that stood where Clark Allen lives. At the town election in 1820 he was chosen one of the commissioners of highways. He died upon what is now the Patrick Mehany farm.
Ariel Chase built a house and lived on the farm where Jonathan Prosser died. He was chosen a town commissioner of schools at the election held in 1820.
Robert Walker, a shoemaker by trade, lived in the town a littie south of Knapp's Corners. He was chosen one of the town constables in 1820. He was born In England, and while going to or returning from England, he and his ship were lost. Our informants disagree as to whether he was going or returning.
Jonas Knapp, after whom Knapp's Corners - extending across the lines ©f Clarkson and Parma - was named, came from Haverstraw, N. Y., in 1810. He died June 17, 1874, aged 75 years. He was buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery.- His widow removed to Santa Rosa, California.
Dr. Joseph C. Tozier came to Clarkson in 1845, where he became a well known and popular physician. He and his wife removed to Brockport, where he died July 24, 1874, aged 83 and his widow died in 1881, aged 78 years. Both were buried in the Brockport Cemetery.
Dr. Gideon Tabor came to Clarkson at an early date, and had in his profession of brickmason a large practice in his vocation. He resided in the house now owned by Irwin Parker. He removed to Le Roy, where he died.
We have herewith present a copy of one of the first deeds made by the persons composing what has teen denominated the "Le Roy Land Company." It is the original deed of the present Daniel C. Freeman. It Is a curious document. It affords considerable information as to the location and business of the men who laid out the land into farm lots, and perhaps in dictates where the name "Clarkson" came from. From a literary standpoint the document seems replete with verbiage and tautology.
Herman Le Roy and others to Eli Hannibal. This indenture made this 20th day of June in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and sixteen between Herman Le Roy, William Bayard, James Mc Evers, Thomas Streatfield Clarkson and Levinus Clarkson of the city of New York, merchants, of the first part, and Eli Hannibal of the county of Genesee in the State of New York of the second part. Witnesseth that the said parties of the first part for and in consideration of the sum of one hundred and ninety-one dollars, lawful money of the State of New York, to them in hand paid by the party of the second part, the receipt, whereof is hereby acknowledged, have given; granted, bargained, sold, delivered, released, conveyed and confirmed and by these presents do give, grant, sell, deliver, release, convey and confirm unto the said party of the second part his heirs and assigns forever all that certain lot, place or parcel of land situate lying and being in the county of Genesee and State aforesaid, being part of a certain larger tract of land known by the name of the Triangular Tract, part of those three certain lots and on a map thereof made by Richard M. Stoddard and filed in the clerk's office of said county of Genesee, distinguished as lots number one, two and three in the thirteenth section of town number four, beginning at a post standing on the north line of lot number, three eighteen chains and eighty-eight links west of the northeast corner of said lot, thence south fourteen degrees end twenty minutes west fifty-nine chains and fifty links to the south line of lot number one, thence west seventeen chains and twelve links, thence north fourteen degrees and twenty minutes east fifty-nine chains and fifty links to the north line of lot number three, and thence east seventeen chains and sixty-two links to the place of beginning, containing one hundred acres and thirty-seven hundredths of an acre of land, be the same more or less as in and by the said map, to which the said parties to these presents refer, may appear, together with all and singular the advantages, privileges, hereditaments and appurtenances to the same belonging, or in anywise appertaining and the reversion and reversions, remainder and remainders, rents, issues and forfeits thereof, and also the estate, right, title, interest, property, claim and demand whatsoever of them the said parties of the first part of in or to the same and every part and parcel thereof with the appurtenances, excepting and always reserving, nevertheless, out of this present grant unto the said parties of the first part, their heirs and assigns, three equal undivided fourth parts of all ores, mines, minerals, or beds of ore, salt or salt springs, of whatever nature or kind soever which now or here after may be discovered or found in and upon the above granted, bargained or described premises, or any part thereof, and the land containing the same, to have and to hold the above granted, bargained and described premises with the appurtenances (excepting and reserving as is herein excepted and reserved), to the said party of the second part, his heirs and assigns, to his and their own proper use,benefit and behoof forever. And the said parties of the first part for themselves, their heirs, executors and administrators do covenant, grant and agree to and with the said party of the second part, his heirs and assigns, that the said parties of the first part at the time of the ensealing and delivery of these presents have good right, full power and lawful authority to grant, bargain and sell the said premises above described in manner and form, as herein written. And that the said party of the second part his heirs and assigns, shall and may at all times hereafter, peacefully and quietly have, hold, use, occupy, possess and enjoy the above granted premises and every part thereof with the appurtenances (except as herein before excepted) without the let, suit, trouble, hindrance or molestation of the said parties of the first part, their heirs and assigns, or any other person or persons lawfully claiming, or to claim, the same. And also that they, the said parties of the first part, and their heirs, the above described and hereby granted premises and every part thereof unto the said party of the second part, his heirs and assigns, against them the said parties of the first part and their heirs, and again st them the said parties of the first part and their heirs, and against every other person and persons whomsoever lawfully claiming, or to claim the same, or any part thereof, shall and will warrant and by these presents forever defend.
In witness whereof the said parties to these presents have hereunto interchangeably set their hands and seals the day and year above written.
Sealed and delivered in the presence of - The words "part of these three certain lots" being first interlined - Kearney Newell.
Herman Le Roy by Graham Newell (seal).
William Bayard, by Graham Newell (seal).
James Mc Evers by Graham Newell (seal).
Thos. L. Clarkson by Graham Newell (seal).
Levinus Clarkson by Graham (seal).
State of New York.
Be it remembered that on the twelfth day of November in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and sixteen came before me, Hermon J. Redfield, Master in Chancery, Kearney Newell, a subscribing witness to the within deed, to me known, who being duly sworn deposes and says that he saw the within named Graham Newell as attorney for the said Herman Le Roy, William Bayard, James Mc Evers, Thomas Stratfield Clarkson, and Levinus Clarkson, the grantors in the said deed mentioned, sign, seal and deliver the said deed for the uses and purposes therein mentioned, arid that he knew the said Graham Newell to be the person described in the said deed, and that he at the same time signed his name thereto as a witness, which being to me satisfactory evidence of the due execution of the said deed, and finding therein no material erasures or interlineations, except the one noted, do hereby allow the same to be recorded.
Herman J. Reidfield,
Master in Chancery.
We have hitherto mentioned the firm of James and Henry Seymour. We learn that James Seymour was an older brother of William H. Seymour, now an honored resident of Brockport. The Henry Seymour mentioned was a cousin of James, who kept a store at Pompey, N. Y. He was a partner in the Clarkson firm, but never resided there. He became a very prominent citizen of the State, being canal commissioner when De Witt Clinton was governor. Horatio Seymour, who became governor, was one of his sons, and a daughter was the wife of Hon., Roscoe Conkling. The firm of James and Henry Seymour, succeeded Joshua Field in 18l6 or 1817, the business being managed by James. The store of the firm stood about where Mr. Rockwell lives, and a part of the same building was occupied by James Seymour as a dwelling. In or about 1820 he bought three hundred acres of land on the east side of what is now Main Street, Brockport, at $7 an acre, and laid a part of it out in building lots. In 1820 he was chosen the first sheriff of Monroe County, and was in service when the first county court was held that year. In 1820 he removed to Brockport. Many years later he removed to Lansing, Mich., where he died Dec. 29, 1864, aged 74 years.
James H. Guernsey, who was a partner of Gustavus Clark, removed to Pittsford, and probably died there.
Benjamin Brooks died May 18, 1882, aged 81 years. His widow died Oct. 15, 1884 aged 72 years. They were buried in the Clarkson Cemetery.
At an early day Consider Bachelor lived in a log house about where Charles A. Perry lives.
This series of articles has been more extended than was anticipated at their commencement, and mainly for the reason that the people of the town and many of their uncles, aunts, and cousins have interested themselves to contribute information for the history and have hereby swelled its proportions. Already numerous important facts have been presented of which there was no previous published record. There is still a good stock on hand. The history will be continued until the more important information is all presented, but no effort will be made to "spin it out."
We have given from the Le Roy land office record the names of the purchasers of lands year by year from 1803 to and including 1809. Some of those purchasers doubtless bought more land later, as some of the names appear twice. The purchasers in 1810 were Samuel Lincoln, Eli Mead and John Mead. In 1811 Isaac Bannister Williams, Jacob Spofford, Ezekiel Case, Henry Mead and John Cummings. In 1812 John Freeman, John Sayers, Nathan Bannister, Samuel Alger and Samuel Randall. In 1813 on account of the war there were no purchases, and but one in 1814, that by Jonathan Byam. In 1815 Ebenezer Perrigo, Zimri Perrigo, Isaac Leach, Robert Clark, David Wait, Amos Randall and Stephen Randall.
As the Moores, Hoys, Browns and others were residents in Clarkson as early as 1810, there is no reason to doubt that what has been known as Ladd's Corners (now Garland) was settled end "cleared up" at about that time. As yet we have not found that any of the first purchases of land, that is by 1815 located at just that place. If their locations have not been given, they will be so far as they can be ascertained, in future articles.
At an early period hotels were kept at Ladd's Corners by John Hysott, James Ladd, Reuben Downs, John Phillips, Mott and Whitman M. Tyler. Hysott was undoubtedly the first tavern keeper. Reuben Downs kept a tavern east of the Corners, perhaps two or three miles. James Ladd - after whom the locality was named - kept a hotel about where W. P. Rice lives. He went west and lost his life in a threshing machine. Whitman M. Tyler built a frame hotel where the present hotel stands, which was succeeded by a brick hotel - the building burned a few years ago. It is said of Tyler that he ran away and finally died in jail at Rochester. The present hotel was built by Hiram Amidon, who is also the landlord. It is not probable that more than two hotels were kept at the same time in the same neighborhood, and likely some of those named succeeded others. Hotels were very numerous all along the Ridge from 1816 to 1825.
The first school was opened at Ladd's Corners in 1817 in a log schoolhouse that stood near where the Shafer house stands, and William Dickenson was the first teacher. In 1818 the cobblestone schoolhouse was built - the house torn down last; year (1889), to be replaced by the present new one.
On the 8th of January 1825, a meeting was held at the dwelling of Silas Hardy, and a Methodist Church Society was organized by the election of the following trustees: Theodore Johnson, Frederick Shaffer, Silas Hardy, Adam Moore, Samuel A. Perry, Henry Ketcham, Zadoc Hurd, Stephen S.. Mead and John Beedle. At that time Rev. Benajah Williams was the Society pastor. A church was built by the Society in 1826, and was rebuilt in 1869, which is the building now standing. After being rebuilt in 1869, it was rededicated.
John Hysott, who kept the first tavern, also carried on the business of a wagon maker, made chairs for the new settlers, and made himself generally useful. He died at East Clarkson, and was buried in the cemetery near by.
In February, 1858, the first post office was established at Ladd's Corners, called "East Clarkson," and J. E. Hoyt was appointed postmaster. After two or three years the office was discontinued. From that time until four years ago there was no post office at that place. Then a post office was established called "Garland" with J. Goodberlett as postmaster, and both are still continued.
At an early date, Shafer and Plumb kept a general store next west of the hotel, which building was burned many years ago. Frederick Shafer was a partner of Plumb, and he was the father of Jonas Shafer. At later periods James H. Baxter and others were storekeepers, usually but one at a time. At present Joseph Goodberlett keeps a. store.
For many years William P. Rice has carried on the carriage making, repairing and blacksmithing business and is prominently identified not only with Ladd's Corners but that section.
Moses S. Barker came to Clarkson in 1820 from Goshen, Orange Co., N. Y. He was married in Clarkson, twice. His first wife Amy was a daughter of Isaac Bannister Williams, who was buried in the Clarkson Cemetery. His second wife was Nancy Graves, who died February 2, 1880, aged 72 years, and was buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery. Mr. Barker was by trade a boot and shoe maker, which business he carried on many years in a small shop on the west side of his house. In later years he filled the offices of Town Collector and Constable. He died September 11, 1880, aged 82 years. He was buried in the Clarkson Cemetery.
Isaac Bannister Williams bought land at the Le Roy land office in the spring of 1811 and immediately came to Clarkson. His purchase consisted of 100 acres and was what is now known as the John Steele farm. He was the first blacksmith and his shop stood where the hotel stands. He built the first frame dwelling house, which stood next to his shop. He removed to Newfane, Niagara Co. where he died in 1847. His widow died sometime later in Parma.
Simeon Dagget bought laud at Le Roy land office in 1805, which was located a short distance west of Redman Corners. His widow died at Warren, Pa., January 20, 1874, aged 79 years. She was buried in the Clarkson Cemetery.
Captain Isaac Allen was a native of Enfield, Conn. His first visit to Clarkson was in the year 18l6, and he was then a single man. He was married in 1817, and then became a resident of the town, residing for about two years on: the property now owned by Mrs. Dr. Perry, where he followed his trade as a hatter. In 1819 he bought a farm near the present Hamlin Center and lived there until 1823, when he bought the farm of John Farwell on the Ridge Road, where he lived for most of the time until he died December 28, 1884, and was 91 years of age. His wife died in 1876 or '77. Both were buried in the Clarkson Cemetery. At the election held in April 1820, Mr. Allen was chosen one of the Commissioners of Highways,, and represented the town as Supervisor in 1837.
The record book of Lewis Swift, justice of the peace, is an old style leather covered ledger - the word "Ledger" being impressed on its back. It now contains 404 pages. A few pages have been torn out. A careful examination of the dates given in this record shows that the first entry was made Jan. 24, 1820. During the first year the cases entered covered one hundred and sixty-nine pages, and averaging 4 cases to the page makes 676 for the year. Most of these cases were for the collection of debts,, and not to exceed one in ten came to trial. The entries in the book are continued regularly until April 3, 1821, when there occurs a break in the dates for a period of about two years, the next date being March 8, 1823. Between these dates he was probably out of office. Commencing in 1823 the entries are regularly continued until May 19, 1826, which is the last entry, and which filled out the book, except a few pages occupied by a memoranda of costs, and one page of marriages. There are two marriage entries in 1824, and he probably had another and later record than the one under consideration, for his usual business. The old record covers but four years of service, and not seven, as we previously gathered from the dates at its beginning and end. This record covers an important period in the history of, the pioneer settlers a period when even the most industrious and economic were at times troubled to meet their ordinary pecuniary obligations.
We present herewith some interesting facts gathered from the record, and the names of many persons found in it; but there are numerous names that have not been mentioned, doubtless some of persons who occupied important positions in the community.
In a suit March 21, 1820, the claim was $6 for six thousand of shingles.
Dr. Baldwin in his recollections stated that the first town election in the town of Murray, before it was divided at all, was held about four miles south of Brockport in a barn belonging to Johnson Bedel. May 9, 1820, this Bedel was a party to a suit before Justice Swift.
Feb. 24 1821. James H. Nowlan sued John. G. Christopher for chopping eight cords of wood at 1 shilling 3 pence per cord.
Mareh 8, 1823, Isaac Jones sued Jacob Hosner, Orra Beach and Alanson Corbin for services as a school teacher. The three persons sued were school trustees.
June 3, 1823, there was a suit for board and washing at $2 per week.
Here are some items of a claim sued by Christopher Hosner July 22, 1823: Chopping and splitting 516 rails, $2.50; two days work self and oxen, $2.50; to chopping two days, $1.25; to one day work at hay, 75 cents.
August 5, 1823, Simeon Daggett sued Hugh Hosner for several days work at 5 shillings per day.
In 1823 the courts were held at H. Brockway's. Previously they had been held at S. Alvord's - commonly called "Spec" Alvord. James Seymour sued alone for store accounts - the name of Henry Seymour being dropped. John Bowman (who afterward became the county Judge) joined Col. S. B. Jewett in a law copartnership. As showing the rate of charges, Col. Jewett sued one of his clients on a charge of $3, for attending two suits.
April 2, 1824, Phillip Ross sued John Farwell 2nd "for making two coffins, in all to damage $25." The word "damage" was used to signify the expense or amount of demand. The suit involved the number of coffins - a curious question of contest - the record saying: "Defendant acknowledges the having of one coffin, and is willing to pay a fair price for it." The plaintiff withdrew the suit.
In 1824 there began to be suits about canal matters. June 15, Cephas Hawks sued George Bellinger for $25 for damages to his boat. A jury trial was had, a verdict "no cause of action." The same date John D. Davis sued John Mellick for $50 damages to property "bounded east by the Lake Road and includes the dock extending 120 feet west" - the property where the American Hotel stands. The plaintiff got 6 cents damages, and Hiel Brockway signed as hail.
In 1824 William Groves, Ezekiel Harmon, Isaac Allen, Agrippa Furman, John Palmer and Nathaniel Rowell were the committee to arrange for celebrating the 4th of July. Thomas Talcott was hired to go to Le Roy for a cannon with which to fire a salute. The committee evidently ran short of money - for other 4th of July committees have had that kind of experience - as on October 15th he sued the committee for $8 for drawing the cannon both ways, and $10 for expenses. He got the $8, but the $10 was disallowed.
There were some suits about curious things. One man sued for $3 damage for dulling an axe. Another sued for not burning charcoal in a skillful manner. And there were numerous suits for the trespass of horses, cattle and hogs. This class of suits did not become extinct in 1824. Suits for "deception in the sale of a horse," were begun in 1820, and are now heard of occasionally.
In 1825 Josiah Fish was sued as an overseer of highways, for neglect of duty, and had to pay $10. Howard Manley was an overseer of highways at the same time.
May 8, 1826, Joseph Sawyer sued Susan Bush for $13 for boarding, washing and mending for two children thirteen weeks.
May 12, 1826, Benjamin W. Hammond sued David Benjamin for thirty-two bushels of corn at fifty cents per bushel - showing the value of corn at that date.
Here are the names of some of the persons appearing in Justice Swift's book, who may have lived in Clarkson, or somewhere in the vicinity: Martin C. Witbeck, Ebenezer Gordon, Benjamin W. Hammond, John Washburn, James Busbnell, Edward Ruggles, Ira Wright, Ebenezer Pixley, Calvin Pixley, Aaron Goodnough, William Johnson, Samuel Stevenson, John Drake, Jr., G. B. Collins, Elizur O. Tillotson, Samuel Stevenson, William E. Perrine, Levi Wickson, Chauncey Wickson, Warren Birge, Eliphalet Walbridge, John Benjamin, David Benjamin, John C. Annin, William Stuart, Joseph Sawyer, Alfred Merrill, William Ross, Willard Ross, James Wolcott, Luke Webster, Joseph Webster, Joseph Webster, Joseph Whitcomb, Jacob, Baragar, William Howe, George Pease, William Alvord, Levi Murray, Henry Ostrander, Ashabel Stebbins, Isaac Houston, Daniel Alverson, Daniel Call, Pomeroy Stiles, John Clark, Levi Wells, John Gray, John Powers, Robert Peasley, Gideon Frothingham, David W. Noyes, Joram Allen, David Hunt, Alexander Williams, Zebulon Williams, James Bates, Leonard Barker, John W. Perry, Harvey Wyman, Joseph Kent, Benjamin Chase, Cyrus Bristol, Josiah Scott, William G. Farr, Dexter Hinkley, Willard L. Ward, Jabez Davis, Benjamin Chadsey, Zoeth Eldridge, Eli Eddy, Reuben Knapp, Orra Beach, Benjamin Blake, Nathaniel Elliott, Lemuel Suthard, Jacob Bovee, Ananias Brown, William Farmer, Silas Hardy, Ebenezer R. Hale, Alva Sweet, John Green, Benjamin Blake, Stephen Cooper, William Coy, David Beach, Abel Root, Mark Jenne, Jenks Young, Harmon Johnson, Gerris Mead, David Bates, John C. Annin, James Burroughs, Luther H. Webster, Ransom Odell, Reuben Moon, James White, George Brink, V. W.. Rathburn, Steward Bennett, John Cusiok, Joseph Kent, Harry Porter, Henry Chriswell, Levi Smith, Benjamin Hammond, Clark Thomas, William Bailey, Michael Monks, Nathan C. Holmes, Adin Burt, Caleb Clark, Chauncey C. Smith, Collins Avery, Joseph Clough, Daniel Holmes, Ichabod A. Bebee, Samuel Nichols, Benjamin Lee, John G. Davis, Hiram Mc Cracken, Thomas Talcott, Charles B. Cooper, David Harris, John Blanchard, David Mc Cracken, Roswell Beach, Adam Gardner, Jacob Chandler, Oliver E. Korah, Joshua Areston, Philo Hyde, James Farr, Calvin Hoyt, Dennis Haskell, Jerome Allen.
In 1825 Roby & Gould and other Brockporters collected the claims or paid their indebtedness, by the aid of the Clarkson justice.
The Freeman farm was sold in 1816 for $196, and as it contained one hundred acres it was a little less than $2 an acre. Miss Nell Barker has loaned us two deeds that belonged to her father, showing the value of land in 1825 and 1827. This is the period when Clarkson village was booming, as the travel had not yet been diverted to the canal, and the land brought (good prices.
On the first day of April, 1825, Henry Drake by deed sold to Moses S. Barker "That certain lot, piece or parcel of land situated, lying and being in the Town of Clarkson in the County of Monroe and State of New York, being a part of lot No. 19, section S, township 4, beginning at the northwest corner of the lot which one Edward Chappell formerly occupied, on the Ridge Road, running thence easterly on the south line of said Ridge parallel six rods; thence southerly at right angles with the Ridge Road sixteen rods; thence westerly parallel to the said south line of the said Ridge Road six rods; thence northerly sixteen rods to the place of beginning, containing ninety-six rods of land." The price paid was $200. This deed was witnessed by William Groves, a lawyer.
On March 28, 1827, Lemuel Haskell sold to Isaac B. Williams by deed "all that certain piece of land situate and lying in the Town of Clarkson, County of Monroe and State of New York, described and bounded as follows: Beginning at the southwest corner of the said land of James Ladd on the north line of the Ridge Road, running thence westerly, on the north line of the Ridge Road about ten rods to land in possession of Harry Porter; thence northerly along said Porter's line twenty rods; thence easterly parallel to the north line of the Ridge Road to said Ladd's land; thence southerly on said Ladd's west line to the place of beginning, containing one acre and fourth of an acre of land, be the same more or less." The price was $600. S. B. Jewett signed as witness.. Recorded in the county clerk's office - J. Cutler, dep. - cost 88 cents.
The hamlet known as Rice's Corners is two and a half miles north of Garland. It takes its name from Henry C. Rice, who had a wagon shop, was for many years a justice of the peace, and was a prominent and well known citizen. A further notice of him will be made in personal sketches.
It was in the vicinity of Rice's Corners that the Moores and Hoys were pioneer settlers. The locality known as the "Moore Settlement" is hereabouts. In 1809 the first clearing was made and the first log houses built.
Away back, and beyond the recollection of persons now living, a school house was built on the then Adam Moore farm, about half a mile south of the present school house. About the same time another school house was built on the David Hoy farm, three fourths of a mile north of Rice's Corners. In 1852 the school districts were changed, and Rice's Corners became the centre of a district, when the present brick building was erected.
The business at Rice's Corners has been confined during recent years to wagon making and repairing, and blacksmithing. It never had a tavern. About forty years ago Myron Phelps kept a grocery store there.
In 1848 a Methodist society was organized by the selection of the following officers: Trustees, Joseph Hoy, David Hoy, Maxwell Moore, Jacob Moore, Henry Moore; stewards, Maxwell Moore and David Hoy; class leader, John Hoy; clerk, Henry Rice. A church was built the same year that cost about $1,200.
In 1860 there arose the well remembered trouble in the Methodist denomination of this section, and the denomination then divided into what was then called the Old School and the Nazarites. The Nazarites or Free Methodists in the vicinity of Rice's Corners formed an organization by the choice of the following trustees: David Hoy, H. Moore, George Moore, Robert Hoy and David Moore. Maxwell Moore and David Hoy were chosen stewards; George Moore, class leader; and Rev. William Manning was the pastor. H. W. Moore and Robert Hoy declined to connect themselves with the new society, and remained with the old. By agreement the two societies occupied the old church, each on alternate Sundays, until 1887, when the old building was torn down, and each society built a church for itself. In the fall of 1887 these churches were dedicated with due cermonials.
The few brick buildings about Rice's Corners were built from brick made near by. At an early day salt boiling and brick making were important industries of the neighborhood.
Aretas Haskell, who bought land in 1806, located on what is now the John Perry farm. He began by clearing his land and boiling salt. He built a sawmill east of the Lake Road. At the election of 1820 he was chosen both a constable and supervisor, and was elected supervisor for the two following years. He was active during the war of 1812, and earned the title of colonel. He removed to Joliet, Ill.
In 1806 Ebenezer Towle became the owner of what Is now the Eli Crary farm. After the formation of Monroe County he served as a deputy sheriff. He removed to Gaines, Orleans County, where he died.
Matthew A. Patterson came to Clarkson in 1848 from Columbia County, N. Y. In 1859 he was supervisor of the town. He died Dec. 1, 1887 aged 75 years, and was buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery.
Walter Perry came to Clarkson in the year 1827 and located on what is at present the John Reed farm. After living there for nine years he removed to north of the Ridge, where he lived until 1855 when he came to Brocknort, and he died here Feb. 17, 1885, aged 90 years.
William Cook was born in Milton, Vt., March 16, 1796; was married to Sophia Buck in 1820; was chosen one of the assessors of the town that year; in 1832 removed to Sweden, on the now Crawford farm; in 1852 removed to Rochester; then to Clarkson for two years; then to Brockport, where he died Sept. 10, 1886, aged about 91 years. His widow died, at Brockport, June 16, 1888. Both were buried in the Brockport Cemeteryy.
Nancy Emor died in Clarkson, Jan. 2, 1875, aged 90 years.
We have given heretofore a sketch of Andrew Wentworth. Ruth S., his widow, died Dec 18, 1883, aged 81 years, and her remains were buried in the Kenyon Cemetery.
Isaac Whitney came from Watertown, Conn., in Clarkson in 1829. In May, 1845 he married Martha Ann, daughter of Dr. Elijah Rowell, and immediately settled on the farm which he owned on the Ladd Road, which became in Hamlin by the subdivision of the town. In 1870 the family removed to Brockport, where he died Sept. 4, 1885, aged 82 years. His widow died in Brockport, March 3, 1890, aged 71 years. Both were buried In the Clarkson Cemetery.,
We have received a very valuable addition to the early history of the town, it being the first town record, for the loan of which we are indebted to Mr. Fred. A. Moore, the present town clerk.. In many respects this record is very complete in showing by its road district lists who were the early settlers; describing the domain of road districts; giving the names of the town officers chosen at each election; the number of votes cast at general elections; the rules and regulations of the town, etc.
The first election, as we have previously stated, was held Apr. 4, 1820. The record opens in the bold clear writing of Gustavus Clark, who was chosen town clerk, with this introduction: "Clarkson, April 4, 1820. The first town meeting of the town was held this day at the house of Abel Baldwin, and the following town officers were elected." Then followed a list of the officers chosen, which we published a few weeks ago. It was then made a rule to appoint pathmasters at the town election, and which has been followed until within a few years, when that duty was devolved on the commissioner of highways. At this election there were thirty-six pathmasters appointed, indicating that the town had that number of road districts when set off from the town of Murray. The road districts were not described until the next election. The following were the pathmasters in 1820. James Leslie, Nathaniel Rowell, Jonathan Cobb, James Arnold, Albert Salisbury, Arnold Spencer, Josiah Cobb, Thomas Christian, John Blossom, Lionell Udell, Jr., Hugh Hosner, David Sanford, Alanson Corbin, Ora Beach, Alfred Peak, Nathan Wright, George Cusick, Eleazer Westcott, Ira Wright, James Billings, Jr., John Lambert, Jr. Joseph Latham, Samuel Armstrong, Robert Walker, John D. Phillips, Caleb N. Bowen, Samuel W. Johnson, Jose Barnett, William Cooper, Ephraim B. Cook, Arad Gilbert, Aaron Hill, Enos Brown, Henry Chriswell, George Pease and Theophilas Randall.
At this election it was voted to raise $100 for the support of the poor, and $250 for roads and bridges. It was also voted that if any hog was found running at large in the streets its owner was subject to a fine of twelve and a half cents for each offinse.
The meeting adjourned to be held on the first Tuesday of the next April at the house of Aretas Haskell.
From the record in the book it is to be inferred that every owner of live stock living in the town was privileged to adopt a distinctive ear mark for cattle and sheep, and by having it entered in the town book,, his animals could be fully identified if they went astray. Here are some of the recorded marks:
The list continues with the following names, each having a mark different in some respect from those mentioned: Samuel Randall, James Leslie, Jonathan Cobb. Albert Salisbury, Abel Baldwin, Isaac Allen, David Forsyth, Zebulon Williams, Samuel W. Johnson, John Green, Lyman Warren, Adam Gardner, Sylvanus Ferris, Daniel Sholes, David Bates, Jr., Russell Bates, John C. Sholes, George Pease, Aretas Haskell, Joshua Field, John Cook and Isaac Sears.
A record was made of the "strays," as the estray horses, cattle, sheep and hogs were called. The first was a three year old gray colt taken up May 18, 1820 by Remington Tayer. In June Isaac Allen had taken up a small red cow. Jonathan Prosser took up a brindle heifer, Joseph Canaday a red heifer two years old, James Leslie a yearling steer, Consider Bachelor one sheep, Ezra Phillips a bay mare, John Blake a red yearling steer. The town clerk had a small fee for making these and similar entries in the town book, and people went to the town record in search of information about their estray animals.
On the Ridge Road, about half a mile west of the Orleans County line, in the town of Murray, is the Clark Cemetery. It is a small cemetery, inclosed on all sides by a stone wall, and like many other cemeteries produces a big crop of weeds. The Asa Clark monument is the most conspicuous and best in the grounds. Ezra N. Hill has a monument. Many persons by the name of Hill are buried in the grounds, and among the number appears the inscription: "Sarah, wife of Priam B. Hill, died April 21, 1822, aged 24 years." She was the wife of a man who lived in Brockport many years later, and was well known.
Two small gravestones show the loss of two children to James Seymour, the early Clarkson merchant, a sketch of whose history has been given. His wife's name appears to have been Maria. In 1822 their daughter Louise died, aged 13 months. In 1826 James died, aged 11 months.
David Wait, who bought land in Clarkson in 1815 and was a pioneer settler, is buried in this cemetery, and also his wife. The tombstone record is that his wife Rhoda died Sept. 28, 1819, aged 57 years, and that he died June 30, 1828, aged 64 years. The date of his wife's death is the earliest that appears in the cemetery.
Eli Wait, of whom we have no history, died Jan. 7, 1868, aged 68 years, and his wife Abagail died Oct. 10, 1875, aged 75 years.. Eli was probably a son of David Wait.
George Brink died Sept. 24, 1830, aged 53 years, and his wife Dorcas died May 21, 1848, aged 71 years.
Theophilas Taylor died Nov. 24, 1831, aged 71 years, and his wife Azubah died April 16, 1838, aged 67 years.
The name of Elijah Blodgett appears as one of the land purchasers in the year 1804. Perhaps it should have been Elisha, who died April 12, 1856, aged 67 years.
Among the inscriptions is that of Hon. William James, who died April 21, 1838, aged 56 years. Mercy, his widow, died March 25, 1843, aged 56 years. The Colonel James who was well known in Brockport several years ago, was a son of William James.
Lionel W. Udell, who became a land purchaser in 1808, and a resident that year or the next, lived in a log house on the Isaac Garrison farm, a little north of the Garrison residence. He removed to Marshall, Mich. He was a brother of Whelock Udell, the father of George and Foster Udell.
John W.. Perry died Doc. 6, 1878, aged 77 years. His wife Debora C., died Nov. 11, 1879, aged 76 years. Both were buried in the Clarkson Cemetery.
Peter Silliman came to Clarkson from Connecticut. He was the father of George, Lafayette and Charles Silliman. He died March 29, 1858, seed 76 years. His wife died Dec. 27, 1851, aged 67 years. They were buried in the Clarkson Cemetery.
A description of the road districts as recorded in 1821 in the town record, and the names of those assessed for work in each district, is valuable as showing who were residents at that early date, and fixing very nearly their precise locality. Henry Mc Call, who is frequently mentioned, was about the first merchant, if not the first, at what is now Garland. At an early period the four cornees there were called Mc Call's Corners - that is before the locality became known as Ladd's Corners. The Ladd Road was called the East Lake Road. Brush Creek, the Braddock Bay Road, and Port Bayard, are of ten mentioned in the record. The latter was unquestionably near the mouth of Sandy Creek. The following is a description of the road districts in 1821, the names of those rated for road work in the districts, and the figures show the number of days work which each individual was expected to perform on the roads:
A week ago we gave a description of the road districts, all of whose roads had been opened prior to the setting off of the town from the town of Murray, except two of the road districts mentioned. The first of these two was established August 19, 1820, and according to the record "begins at a stake in the centre of the Ridge Road about forty rods west of James Leslie's east line, thence south to the south line of the town." This was probably the road from Garland south to the Sweden line. August 24, 1820, the commissioners of the towns of Sweden and Clarkson, opened a road "beginning at the centre of the middle Lake Road and on the line of lots of Anson Hammon and Joshua Field, - running thence east on the line of lots intersecting the east Lake Road." That was the Town Line Road from WiIkies' Corners east to the Ladd's Road. It will be observed that the "middle Lake Road" is spoken of - the present Ladd's Road being called the "east Lake Road," and at the period under consideration that the Redman Road was called the "west Lake Road," Zenas Case, Jr., was the surveyor, and Isaac Allen and Jonathan Cobb, the commissioner, who laid out the roads mentioned.
On the 19th of April, 1822, the commissioners of highways for Clarkson and Murray met at the house of Edwin Perry, in Murray, and divided the road district between the two towns south of the Ridge as follows: For Clarkson, beginning at the Ridge Road and runs south to Abraham Randolph's south line; for Murray, begins at the Abraham Randolph's south line and runs south to the town line.
June 1, 1822, a road was surveyed from the "west Lake Road" on the south line of Sections 5 and 8 to the main Lake Road.
The same date a road was surveyed from the line of Sweden near the Widow Sanford's to the Gilbert Road.
The main Lake Road was described as beginning at the south line of the town and running north to the south bank of the Sandy Creek in the village of Port Bayard.
April 19, 1823, "on the petition of twelve reputable freeholders," a road was laid out beginning at the southeast corner of Mr. Blossom's lot in the centre of the "east Lake Road," and running west to cooperate with a road previously laid out on the south line of the lot owned by Isaac Randall.
May 16, 1828, a road was laid out beginning in the centre of the Lake Road a short distance from the south bank of Sandy Creek and running to the south shore of the Lake, said road to be three rods wide.
The following appears to be the Drake Road, laid out March 31, 1835: Beginning at the north line of the Ridge Road, thence north to the south line of the road running west from Beachs' Corners, the road to be three rods wide.
There were many other road lay outs, but as the descriptions are by lot and section numbers, they would not be understood if given. The width of but few roads are mentioned, but as those are all three rods, it is reasonable to suppose that that was the standard width. The Lake Road, or central Lake \Road was laid out all the way from Le Roy to the north four rods or sixty-six feet wide, and where it is not now that width it has been encroached upon. Many roads were opened through the forests in a crude way, and were used as highways several years before they were surveyed and recorded.
The last time the road districts were recorded was March 22, 1836, when they were thus described:
The very first settlers in Clarkson did not locate at what properly may be called the village, and which we are now to consider. Moody Freeman, the first settler, located two miles north. Noah Owen, who bought land in 1805, and became a resident that year or next, was a practicing physician, and was practicing as late as 1811. He lived in a log house that stood a few rods south of John Reed's, which was replaced by a frame structure, and which was torn down a few years ago. He was the first physician. Dr. Abel Baldwin kept a hotel at an early date in a frame building that stood where Mr. Bellinger resides, which was removed and now forms part of the residence of Mrs. Andrews. The present brick hotel was built in 1817. The same year James Seymour built a potashery about where the Raymond mill stands. The first Garrison house was built in 18I8 for Joshua Field. That year a house was built for Winter Stewart where the Scofield house is located. We have previously stated that Dea. Joel Palmer bought out James Sayre in 1811, which purchase was a lot and log house. In that house the Deacon lived until 1827, when he built the brick house in which he died. Gustavus Clark in 1815 built the store and the house, both of brick, on the southeast corner of the four corners, both of which are standing. Near the Clark store was a log tavern, perhaps antedating that of Dr. Baldwin, kept by a man named Stevens. On the southwest corner were a blacksmith shop and dwelling house. The house was removed, and several years ago was occupied by David Rogers. David Forsyth built the first part of the Matthew A. Patterson house, and he lived there for a time. Dr. Nathaniel Rowell first occupied a house that stood where the church parsonage stands. Dr. Ezekiel Harmon lived about where Mrs. Shepherd resides. Jonathan Cobb occupied a frame dwelling that stood where Clark Allen lives.
Stewart & Field - Frederick R. Stewart and Joshua Field had a store where the Rockwell house stands, which building was removed, and a few years ago was used as a dwelling by J. H. Bovee. The first school house, built in 1811 or '12, stood nearly opposite the Pinney place. Consider Bachelor lived in a log house about where Charles A. Perry resides. John Blodgett located near the present Blodgett mill, and built a gristmill there.
The first lawyer was Francis Storms, who came in 1817. The next was William Groves. Then followed Col. Jewett, John Bowman and Henry R. and Samuel Selden.
Before there was any church organization services were held in the schoolhouse. Rev. William James is mentioned in connection with early religious services. The following is a history of the first church organization:
At a meeting held at the schoolhouse Sept. 4, 1816, the Congregational Church was formed with the following charter members: Joel Palmer, Theodore Ellis, Mary Perry, Polly Day, Polly Rice, Phebe Palmer, Patience Ellis, Anna Swift, John Phelps, Calvin Green, Mary Mc Cracken, Desire Wheland, Laura White, Charlotte Cummings, Sally Reed, and Betsey Phelps. Joel Palmer and Levi Smith were the first deacons. Nov. 15, 1816, Rev. Ezra Woodworth was installed pastor. The services of the society were held at the schoolhouse. The church was built in 1825, and is stated to have cost $8,500 - an apparent error, as lumber at that time was very low, and labor not very high. The church has been remodeled and improved since it was built. In 1856 or 1857 not less than $2,000 were expended in improvements, and in 1862 it had another overhauling.
Brickmaking was begun in l8l5 by a man named Hamm, and then commenced the construction of brick buildings, which are quite numerous and all built of brick made in the town. Dr. Rowell engaged in the business a little later, and many others followed the industry as there was a demand in the town or at Brockport. At first wood cost delivered seventy-five cents per cord. Hemlock lumber sold at from $4 to $5 per thousand feet. All the clay was not used up that is bad for roads but good for brickmaking, and Mr. Parker is going for the balance.
The first town election in the year 1820 was held at the house of Abel Baldwin. We have already given the names of the persons chosen officers at that election. The second town election was held April h, 1821, at the house of Aretas Haskell, when the following persons were chosen officers: Supervisor, Aretas Haskell; town clerk, Gustavus Clark assessors, Lewis Swift, Roderick R. Stewart and William Clark; collector, Elijah Cook, Jr.; overseers of poor, Lewis Swift and Arad Gilbert; commissioners of highways, Zebulon Williams, Adin Manley and John Blossom; constables, Elijah Cook; Jr., Erastus Porter, William Clark and Aretas Haskell; Commissioners of common schools, Gustavus Clark, Theophilas Randall and Edward Chappell; inspectors of common schools, Nathaniel Rowell, William Groves, Gideon Tabor, Lewis Swift and Ezekiel Harmon; pound master, Elijah Rowell. At this election a fine of twenty-five cents was fixed for each hog running at large between April 1st and November 1st.
The third town election was held at the house of Aretas Haskell April 2, 1822. The same officers were chosen as the year previous, except as noted. Truman Cook superceded Roderick R. Steward as assessor; Stephen Baxter and Abel Baldwin superceded Adin Manley and John Blossom as commissioners of highways; Isaac Allen superceded Arad Gilbert as overseer of the poor; William Clark, Ebenezer Towle and Alanson Corbin were chosen constables; William Groves and Dennis Haskell superceded Theophilas Randall and Edward Chapuell as commissioners of schools; but three inspectors of common schools were chosen, Elijah Rowell, Ezekiel Harmon and Abel Baldwin, and Thomas Talcott was chosen pound keeper. It was voted to raise $200 for the poor, and $150 for the support of the common schools. Those were the days of rate bills - each family paying according to the number of days sent to school.
The first record of a general election is made November 7, 1822, when a three days vote had been taken for candidates for governor, lieutenant governor, four senators for the eighth senatorial district, a member of congress for the 27th district, three members of assembly, a sheriff, four coroners and county clerk., The election on each day was held at a different place - always one day at Clarkson village, sometimes at Redman's Corners, sometimes at Beach's Corners, often at what is now Hamlin Centre, once in a while at Thomas Mills and Kane's Corners. At the end of three days the inspectors footed up the votes, and made a record and returns. It will be observed that on each ticket there were the names of four candidates for senators, and three for members of assembly. The following is a record of the vote:
The political parties were not very evenly divided in Clarkson at this date. The average Democratic vote was 143, and the Whig 27.
The next town election was held at the house of Abel Baldwin April 1, 1823. The number of votes cast as a whole or for the respective candidates is not given. The following officers were elected: Supervisor, Gustavus Clark; town clerk, Ezekiel Harmon; assessors, Witter Steward, William Dickinson and William Cooper; collector, Elijah Cook, Jr.; overseers of poor, Isaac Allen and Lewis Swift; Commissioners of highways, Isaac Allen, Calvin Freeman and Josiah Goff; commissioners of schools, Gustavus Clark, Gideon Tabor and Dennis Haskell; school inspectors, William Groves, Nathaniel Rowell and John F. Bliss; constables, Ebenezer Towle, Alanson Corbin and Elijah Cook, Jr.; pound keeper, John Palmer. By vote the supervisor was directed to collect from Joshua Field "money raised some years ago to procure weights and measures."
April 6, 1824, the next town election was held, when the previous officers were chosen with the exceptions noted. Zebulon Williams and William Clark were substituted for William Dickinson and William Cooper as assessors; Theodorus Johnson was substituted for Lewis Swift as overseer of poor; new commissioners of highways, Josiah Cobb, Aretas Haskell and William Tompkins; constables, Alanson Corbin, Ebenezer Towle and John Redman; commissioners of schools, Gustavus Clark, Elijah Rowell and Horace Chase; school inspectors, William Groves, Ezekiel Harmon and Abel Baldwin. It was voted to raise all the school money that the law allowed, and $50 for the support of the poor.
Town officers chosen April 5, 1825: Supervisor, Aretas Haskell; town clerk, Gustavus Clark; assessors, Henry Ketcham, Benjamin Chase and David Forsyth; collector, Theodorus Johnson; overseer of poor, Isaac Allen and James M. Clark; commissioners of highways, Josiah Cobb, Roswell W. Green and Henry Porter; constables, Theodorus Johnson, Billa Cook and Samuel Udell; commissioners of schools, Abel Baldwin, William Groves and Isaac Allen; school inspectors, Gideon Tabor, Hiram Blake and Elijah Rowell. It was voted that the inspectors and commissioners of schools have seventy-five cents per day when employed. It was also voted to raise $100 for the support of the poor, and that the next town election be held at the inn occupied by Silas Walbridge. The pathmasters were appointed at the town election each year.
On November 7th, 8th, and 9th, 1825, an election was held to determine the manner of choosing president and vice president - probably a constitutional amendment - with the result thus stated: For "by districts" 165, "by general, ticket plurality" 40. Perhaps some of our readers can tell the purpose of the vote.
The town record was annually filled to the extent of four or five pages with the lay out of roads, a list of estrays, and described live stock marks. Some of the stock must have been considerably cut up. Here is a specimen for the stock of H. Kimball: "Three notches on the under side of each ear." All of the stock should have gone estray, and probably would have had it known how it was to be cut up with marks.
The Blossom Cemetery is situated on the Hamlin and Clarkson town line, a few rods west of the Ladd's Road, and about half a mile from East Hamlin, previously known as Kane's Corners. This ground was first opened as a burial place in 1842, seven years before the town of Clarkson was divided. It then contained about an acre of land; but additions have since been made on the north and east, and now the cemetery embraces an area of something over two acres.. This cemetery is pleasantly situated on a gentle elevation, and all but a small portion of it is at all seasons of the year free from water. It contains several excellent monuments, that of Dr. Joseph Pease being the largest and apparently the most expensive. The ground is kept in better condition than the average of rural cemeteries.
The first burial in this cemetery was the remains of Thomas Williams, who died Sept. 22, 1845, aged 46 years. He came to Clarkson from Sandlake, N. Y. There is a stone bearing an earlier date than that mentioned of Thomas Williams - that of George C., son of Dorothy Deadleston, June 30, 1825, aged 17 years; but It was brought from some other cemetery, as it is dated twenty years before the establishment of the Blossom Cemetery.
John Cummings was one of the pioneer settlers. He bought land In 1811, and doubtless came that year or the next. At the time of his death he lived on a farm subsequently owned by one of the Holcombs. He died January 29, 1854, aged 75 years, and must have been thirty years old when he came into the town. His widow, Martha Cummings, died March 29, aged 85 years.
William Kane, after whom Kane's Corners was named, died November 28, 1863, aged 75 years.
William Plass - a man who lived to be almost 100 years - died March 1, 1867, aged 97. His wife Sarah had died Sept. 16, 1853, aged 73 years.
Jeremiah Spickerman died March 19, 1855, aged 66 years, and his widow Martha died Nov. 3, 1864.
Hannah, wife of Reuben Quivey, died July 1, 1868, aged 70 years.
John Shank died May 26, 1859, aged 64 years.
David Erwin died August 16, 1860, aged 67 years, and his widow Mary died April 4, 1871, aged 65 years.
Rachel, wife of Levi Thompson, died April 6, 1852, aged 77 years.
Benjamin Clark died Feb. 8, 1855, aged 56 years.
Aaron Ingham died May 27, 1869, aged 67 years, and his widow Grace died Dec 10, 1876, aged 73 years.
Daniel C. Simmons died Dec. 30, 1880, aged 74 years,
Merrick Groves, a native of Brimfield, Mass., died June 11, 1875, aged 93 years. His widow died recently at Brockport, and her remains were buried in the Blossom Cemetery.
Jacob Fishbaugh died March 20, 1877, aged 77 years.
Henry Quivey died March 23, 1879, aged 61 years.
James Hinds died June 12, 1864, aged 72 years.
Amasa D. Walker died Sept. 7, 1872, aged 58 years.
Talcott Bates died May 7, 1868, aged 69 years. Rhoda, his widow, died June 4, 1885, aged 80 years.
John Simmons died August 1, 1872, aged 76 years, and his widow Margaret died June 17, 1884, aged 82 years.
Daniel Hamil died April 18, 1887, aged 77 years.
The cemetery near East Clarkson embraces about two acres of land, is dry and pleasantly located, and will yield a fair crop of hay, if it has not very recently been gathered. There is nothing peculiar about the ground except its outline - the form of a big bottle with its mouth toward the road. There does not appear to be any record of the early history of this cemetery, which was doubtless the second one opened in the town, the first being that west of Clarkson village. This much is known, that the ground was given for a burial place by Elder Ely Hannibal, from, the northwest corner of his farm, (now the Daniel C. Freeman farm, and at first included about one acre. The deed of the Hannibal farm is dated May 20, 1816, and it was doubtless about this time, but possibly earlier, that the first burials were made. Several years ago :the grounds were enlarged to their present dimensions by pur;chase of land on the west from Irad C. Crary, and on the south from Daniel C. Freeman.
This cemetery contains the remains of many persons identified with not only the early settlement of the town, but with its prosperity and good fame. It is seldom that a rural cemetery of similar domain has so large a number of tasty monuments as adorn this one. They number about thirty-five, and several of them - the Wadhams and Prosser columns particularly - are expensive memorials.
Elder Ely Hannibal, the founder of the cemetery, is entitled to the honor of the first piece in its written and printed history. His history prior to locating in Clarkson is not ascertainable. He paid in 1816 $190 for one hundred acres, being less than $2 an acre. He was not only a farmer, but a Free Will Baptist preacher. His fame as an active man, and wielding large influence, still abounds. In his day his sect was called "Free Will Baptists," and the other Baptist sect, "Close Communion Baptists." Elder Hannibal sold his farm, and devoted, the latter part of his life wholly to preaching. He was instrumental in establishing several church organizations. He lived to be 97 years of age. He died in the town of Carlton, August 28, 1876; his funeral was held at the East Kendall Church, and his remains were buried at East Clarkson in the place given by him for cemetery purposes. His wife, Clarissa W., died Dec. 27, 1844, aged 54 years.
His daughter Amanda died July 17 1841, aged 19 years. His daughter Clarissa C. died June 31. 1842, aged 16 years. A son Alburtus S., died March 31, 1851, aged 38 years. His son Fansom died July 3 1854, aged 37 years. His son Lorenzo P. died in 1882, aged 67 years. His son Ferdinand G. died March 4, 1884, aged 65 years. It is a conspicuous line of head stones that mark the graves of his large family. Besides there are the graves of his children's children and other family connections.
The earliest date that is found on a gravestone in this cemetery is that of Sept. 12, 1813, the death of Patty, the first wife of Sylvanus Ferris. It is not probable that she died in Clarkson. Sylvanus Ferris died Oct. 14, 1828, aged 66 years. His second wife Lydia, died Sept. 30, 1858, aged 87 years. Her gravestone bears this record: "Lydia, born in Chester, N. H., Aug. 12, 1781, was the first female settler in Clarkson." The inscription does not give the year that she came to the town, but it must have been as early as 1804 in order for her to have been the first woman settler.
Adam, Henry and James Moore, who were brothers, came to Clarkson from Albany County, N. Y. in the year 1810. They located about two miles north of Garland, and the neighborhood became known as the "Moore Settlement." From the Ridge Road to their land they cut a road through the woods, and thus opened in 1810 the south end of the Ladd's Road. They were reputable, industrious and thrifty people. All the Moores in Clarkson are their descendants. Adam Moore, the oldest of the three brothers, died April 21, 1846, aged 75 years, and was buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery. Mary Smith, his widow, died Jan. 26, 1855, aged 77 years. Adam Moore lived and died, on the farm now owned by James Coleman.
Henry Moore, the next oldest of the brothers, owned and lived on the farm now owned by Mrs. Nelson Amidon. He was buried on the farm, and we have neither the date of his death nor his age.
James Moore, the youngest of the three pioneer brothers, lived on the farm where the Gothic Church stands. He bought the farm, which comprised one hundred and fifty acres, in 1810 for $2.50 per acre. He died August 23, 1850, aged 73 years; and his widow Kancy died March 24, 1883, aged 89 years. Both were buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery. James Moore was blind for several years before he died.
The East Clarkson Cemetery contains the names of many Moores, some of whom may have been early settlers besides those previously named. We give the record of several who were long identified with the town.
David Moore died Nov. 26, 1868, aged 58 years.
Henry W. Moore died Jan. 26, 1876, aged 54 years.
Maxwell Moore died Jan. 15, 1883, aged 76 years. These were all buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery.
Robert and James Hoy came to Clarkson with the Moores in 1810, and located about a mile north of Garland. Robert was buried in the old graveyard on the Doty farm. We lack the date of his death and age. James lived where Wilson Hoy lives, and where he died Oct. 3, 1846, aged 61 years. Gracey, his widow, died May 25, 1873, aged 85 years. They were buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery.
David Hoy died Jan. 20, 1884, aged. 74 years. His wife, Mary A. died April 19, 1882, aged 62 years. They are buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery.
Mrs. John Hoy was born in County Down, Ireland, in 1815, died Oct. 1, 1879.
Lyman Warren came to Clarkson in 1817, and located on the farm next east of Eli Crary's. By trade he was a shoemaker. He died May 25, 187I, aged 93 years. His wife Rebecca died March 25, 1859, aged 82 years. Capt. James H. Warren, their son, died April 13, 1888, aged 73 years. The three are buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery.
The following were all buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery; at least their monuments or gravestones indicate such to have been a fact:
John Hotchkiss died Sept. 24, 1839, aged 54 years. His widow Lydia died May 12, 1840, aged 54 years.
Irad Crippen died Jan. 4, 1831, aged 31 years. His widow Maria died July 4, 1869, aged 73 years.
Ephraim Crary died Aug. 25, 1830, aged 37 years.
Theodorus Johnson died July 17, 1851, aged 73 years.
William Johnson died Dec 19, 1886, aged 87 years.
William Williams died Oct. 27, 1850, aged 70 years.
Martin C. Witbeck died Aug. 12, 1865, aged 73 years. Levina P., his wife, died June 6, 1853, aged 62 years.
Samuel Adams died Oct. 9, 1855, aged 85 years. His wife Katharine died Jan. 31, 1817, aged 48 years.
George Doty died Sept. 25, 1823, aged 72 years. Nancy, his widow, died Feb., 21, 1861, aged 89 years.
Isaac O. Thompson died Oct. 31, 1870, aged 65 years.
William Cotter died Dec, 20, 1883, aged 90 years.
William Rowland died August, 1878, aged 76 years. Elizabeth C., his wife, died Nov. 1, 1869, aged 70 years.
Jonathan Wadhams died Oct. 9, 1870, aged 80 years. Olive, his first wife, died July 26, 1829, aged 36 years. Elizabeth, his second wife, died Aug. 29, 1848, aged 47 years. His third wife is living at Brockport.
George Crippen died July 11, 1875, aged 60 years. Mary, his widow, died April 20, 1888, aged 65 years.
Paul Snyder died Aug. 2, 1870, aged 68 years. Susan, his widow, died June 31, 1874, aged 64 years.
Charles Bates, a well known citizen, died July 20, 1878, aged 45 years.
Warren Cummings died Jan. 11, 1874, aged 80 years. He was probably a brother to John Cummings, who bought land in 1811.
Ebenezer Leach, father of William Leach, died Oct. 15, 1855, aged 68 years. Lucy B., his widow, died June 18, 1880, aged 85 years.
Henry Harvey died Oct. 3, 1881, aged 71 years.
John Cooper died March 5, 1879, aged 83 years.
Samuel Nixon died June 19, 1844, aged 66 years. Susannah, his wife, died July 3, 1865, aged 78 years.
Henry Fosmire died March 3, 1887, aged 81 years.
Roswell Henry died March 7, 1862, aged 62 years. Ann, his widow, died Nov. 30, 1865, aged 60 years.
John Kennedy died May 9, 1822, aged 61 years.. The inscription on his headstone says that he was a soldier of the Revolution.
Frederick Shafer, father of Jonas Shafer, died April 12, 1858, aged 62 years. Nancy, his wife, died March 1, 1852, aged 56 years. Frederick Shafer was for a time a merchant at Ladd's Corners.
Paul Bovinizer died Nov. 15, 1888, aged 74 years. Mary, his wife, died April 3, 1884, aged 80 years.
Ruth, widow of Caleb Wood, died May 18, 1849, aged 69 years.
Isaac Houston died August 13, 1852, aged 52 years.
Job Phelps died Sept. 1, 1851, aged 58 years.
Jacob P. Dunn died Oct. 11, 1844, aged 71 years. Rebecca, his widow, died April 10, 1847, aged 68 years.
Maria Bartley died June 11, 1826, aged 70 years.
Benjamin Lafountain, a native of France, died Feb. 13, 1862, aged 68 years. Charlotte, his widow, died June 28, 1869, aged 73 years.
Hale Mason died May h, 1853 aged 73 years. Deborah, his wife, died August 3, 1850, aged 63 years. Capt. Caleb H. Mason, a brother of Hale Mason, is buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery, but as yet no stone marks his grave.. He lived for many years where Mr. Rufus H. Scofield resides, and was a prominent and popular citizen.
John Windust died at the West. Sophronia, his first wife, died Anril 14, 1863, aged 56 years. Jane, his second wife, died Nov. 22, 1866, aged 43 years.
Wayne Markham was born in the town of Rush. He died Aug. 23, 1873, aged 75 years. Anna, his wife, died October 10, 1853, aged 53 years.
Moses and Sarah Jennings died on what is now the Truman Lawrence farm. They have no headstones in this cemetery. Their daughters Lucelia and Adella are buried at East Clarkson.
Pete A. Nellis, father of Frederick A. Nellis, died April 25, 1862, aged 81 years. Eunice, his wife, died May 15, aged 60 ears.
Elizabeth Lusk, a well known Brockport music teacher, died July 13, 1884, aged 70 years.
James Billings died May 29, 1889, aged 56 years. Margaret, his wife, died Aug. 22, 1855, aged 41 years.
Timothy Merritt came to Clarkson in 1843. He died Jan. 21, 1886, aged 85 years..The age of his wife Abby is not given..
Joseph Wayne died July 4, 1852, aged 82 years.
Eli Gallup died April 30, 1882, aged 91 years. Hannah, his wife, died July 13, 1835, aged 35 years.
Ives Lynd died July 25, 1881, aged 77 years. Sarah Ann, his wife, died Dec. 25, 185I, aged 38 years.
Isaac E. Hoyt died April 26, 1882, aged 79 years.
James Gillis died March 29, 1842, aged 51 years.
Amos Gregory died Oct. 8, 1852, aged 76 years. Mary Ann, his wife, died Oct. 11, i860, aged 84 years.
J. H. Bushnell came from Coeymans on the Huddon River in 1810, and located and lived upon the farm now owned by H. L. Bushnell. He died there, and was buried in the East Clarkson Cemetery. Sarah Ann, his widow, died May 18, 187O, aged 84 years.
Matthew A. Patterson, a sketch of whose history we have previously published, was buried in this cemetery. A previous sketch has also been published of Jonathan Prosser.
None of the four Browns who at an early date located a little north of Ladd's Corners, now Garland, are buried in this cemetery, unless their graves are unmarked, by inscribed stones. It has been said that James Ladd, after whom Ladd's Corners was named, was buried in this cemetery, but it does not appear to be a fact.
A short distance west of the Redman Road, on the south side of the second road south from the Lake, in the town of Hamlin, is the Kenyon Cemetery. It was opened as a burying ground in 18l6, which was about forty years before the town of Clarkson was divided. It has been enlarged on the south and west, and now includes about two acres. It is said that the land originally belonged to a Silliman, and as Peter Silliman was an early settler he was probably the owner.
This cemetery is pleasantly situated on rising ground, is mainly shaded by evergreen trees, the land is dry, and if it was kept a little more tidy its attractions for the living would be materially enhanced. As it is, it compares favorably with the cemeteries of the section. In time, the good taste manifested by many>of the farmers of the locality in their buildings and lawns will doubtless be extended to the cemetery.
The most noteworthy feature of this cemetery is the number of Germans buried in it - probably one-fourth of the total. It appears to be the German burial place for the town of Hamlin. All of the German headstones are inscribed in German, and some in the German text.
The first person hurled in the cemetery was Josiah Reede, who died Sept. 2h, 1816, aged 56 years. There is a legend in regard to him, that he was first buried at the place called Devil's Nose - about three miles away - where his hones were washed out by the Lake.
Hiram Holman died March 2, 1866, aged 66 years.
Linsford Morey died Sept. 17, 1858, aged 81 years.
Allen Storer died Sept. 17, 1877, aged 56 years. Lany, his wife, died March 9, 1851, aged 35 years. Orpha, his second wife, died March 30, 1854, aged 23 years. Cyntha, his third wife, died Jan. 19, 1879, aged 43 years.
Christopher Sholes was a pioneer settler, and he died at an early date - Sept. 17, 1817, and was aged 52 years. He seems to have left numerous descendants, as no name appears oftener in the cemetery than that of Sholes. His wife's name was probably Lydia, who died in 1849 aged 76 years. Delilah Sholes, probably a daughter, died in 1822, aged 22 years. John Sholes died in 1859, aged 65 years. Louisa Sholes died in 1845, aged 49 years.
Dr. Joshua Prosser, who lived on the west side of the county line road near the Lake, died Feb. 10, 1834, aged 84 years. Philo Prosser, his son, who lived and died on thesame farm, died July 26, 1882, aged 86 years.
Abner Darling died Jan. 11, 1839, aged 58 years.
Sumner C. Austin died March 17, 1853, aged 47 years.
Jacob Lake died April 15, 1851, aged 76 years. Hannah, his widow, died Jan, 30, 1854, aged 75 years.
Richard Cary died May 7, 1877, aged 64 years.
David Bates died Feb. 1, 1828, aged 33 years. Belinda, his widow, died July 13, 1847, aged 55 years. David Bates was a pioneer settler.
John Cary died Sept. 10, 1863, aged 75 years. Lydia, his widow, died June 1, 1866, aged 75 years.
Robert Mc Creery died April 16, 1879, aged 75 years. Lucretia, his wife, died June 23, 1875, aged 88 years.
John Breckons died Oct. 30, 1844, aged 40 years. Elizabeth, his widow, died Oct. 15, 1884, aged 88 years.
Cortland Elliott died Oct. 31, 1847, aged 68 years. Mary, his first wife, died Aug. 28, 1840, aged 59 years. Ann, his second wife, died Feb. 28, 1861, aged 63 years.
George W. Storer died May 6, 1846, aged 63 years.. Deborah, his widow, died Aug. 7, 1855, aged 71 years.
Here are the records of the soldiers of the War of the Rebellion: George Austin, killed in the Battle of the Wilderness May 5, 1864, aged 27 years. George R. Storer of Co. B, 108 Reg. Vol., died at Washington, D. C. Jan. 19, 1864, aged 24 years. Charles Bacon, a member of Co. B, 108 N. Y. Inf., died Nov. 16, 1862, aged 22 years. John L. Hard, a member of Co. N, 8th N. Y. Art., died at Point Lookout, Md., Oct. 18, 1864, aged 22 years. The remains of John T. Farnham, who left the Republic office, of which he was foreman, to serve as a soldier, are buried in this cemetery. He died at Hamlin Centre. He was a bright young man, and made a good record as a soldier. We did not observe a headstone for him in the cemetery.
James B. Noyes died Nov. 15, 1860, aged 46 years..
Andrew Wentworth and Ruth his wife are buried here. We have hitherto given a sketch of their history.
Joseph Curtis died Dec. 24, 1866, aged 72 years. Joanna, his widow, died July 23, 1876, aged 79 years.
Dero, frau von Jo Kruger, gestorben den 15 Marz, 1875, alter 61 yahre. Translate this is: Dero, wife of Jo Kruger, died the 15th of March, 1875, aged 61 years.
Jacob Leiter died Jan. 3, 1854, aped 59 years. Sallie, his wife, died April 21, 1852, aged 52 years.
Henry Leiter died Jan. 4, 1872, aged 66 years. Olive, his widow, died Jan. 16, 1872, aged 51 years. Mary C. Leiter, mother of Henry, and perhaps Jacob Leiter, died May 30, 1862 aged 96 years.
William Barrow, Jr. died July 19, 1850, aged 53 years.
Margaret, wife of James Williamson, died June 30, 1884, aged 61 years.
Andrew Clark died Oct. 29, 1883, aged 52 years. Lydia P. his wife, died July 30, 1861, aged 53 years.
Mary, wife of Samuel La Due, died Jan. 13, 1885, aged 74 years.
William Wilson died March 19, 1888, aged 60 years.. Betsey, his wife, died Nov. 7, 1864, aged 36 years.
H. M. Kenyon died June 6, 1884, aged 64 years.
Sarah E., wife of Alvin R. Kenyon, died April 6, 1872, aged 39 years.
Lorenzo C. Skutt died Aug. 21, 1876, aged 57 years.
Randall Kenyon, the first of the Kenyons, died Sept. 5, 1882, aged 94 years. Elizabeth, his wife, died July 9, 1881, aged 93 years.
Levi Hard died Sept. 2, 1882, aged 73 years. Mary, his wife, died Feb. 7, 1866, aged 51 years.
James E. Clark died June 25, 1863, aged 60 years. Nancy P., his wife, died Aug. 15, 1854, aged 50 years.
German Elliott died Jan. 13, 1870, aged 64 years. Getty, his widow, died July 31, 1874, aged 94 years. German Elliott was born in Otsego County, N. Y. Six of his sons live within a few miles of the homestead on the Redman Road.
Seth Cook died March 15, 1875, aged 73 years. Mary, his wife, died July 5, 1866, aged 60 years.
Jonas T. Bush, father of Charles T. Bush, was an early settler, and died where his son resides Dec. 16, 187O, aged 70 years. Juliette, his widow, died July 28, 1871, aged 69 years.
Benjamin Archer died Feb. 25, 1879, aged 70 years.
Jonathan Bailey died March 24, 1883, aged 79 years. Maria, his wife, died Sept. 7, I87I, aged 64 years.
There were four Browns who purchased land in Clarkson by 1809, but Amos Brown is not named as one of them. He died Oct..12, 1846, aged 86 years, and was perhaps the father of Robert, James M., Macy, and Joshua H. Brown, the land purchasers.
Archibald B. Fuller died Nov. 8, 1863, aged 57 years. Marie, his wife, died Aug. 1, 1849, aged 20 years.
David Lane died March 28, 1858, aged 82 years. Julia A., his wife, died April 8, 1865, aged 45 years.
Phebe, wife of Allen Brown, died April 5, 1849, aged 40 years. After her death her husband removed to the West.
This cemetery abounds in excellent monuments, among the best of which are those bearing the names of Parks, Alvin R. Kenyon, H. M. Kenyon, Schepler, Lverenz, Lewerenz, and Richard Cary. The most costly is apparently the one erected by W. H. Parks.
The Settlement of the Town of Clarkson began at least as soon as 1804, and perhaps in 1803, the date of the first land purchase. It was not long before there were deaths and burials, surely some before 1810. when there must have been a population of about two hundred. In many instances the first of the burials were on farms owned by the settlers, and in some cases these remains were removed in later years to what became established public burial places.
This article relates to the Clarkson Cemetery - the cemetery on the Ridge Road a little over a mile west of Clarkson village. There is no record when it was first used as a burial |lace, but it was probably about the year 1806. The first owner of the land was a Ross, probably John Ross, who was 34 years of age in 1810. The ground first used was the bank on the east side of the small stream that crosses the highway near by, and which has been made a point by the cutting down, of the road which passes along the south side of the cemetery. The location is pleasant, and land being gravelly is always dry.
The land as first used was undoubtedly given for a burying ground by John Ross, and included less than an acre. James Clark owned the farm at a later date, and in 1835 he gave to the Congregational Church Society of Clarkson four tiers of burial lots on the east side of the first ground. Subsequently Ambrose Sanford owned the farm adjoining the cemetery, and he sold lots on the east side to individuals. After the death of Mr. Sanford, his sister, Mrs. E., K. Campbell, became the owner of the farm and now owns it. Last year Mrs. Sanford gave some land to the cemetery, and sold some and now the cemetery embraces an area of two acres and a fifth. A few years ago an association was formed for the management of the cemetery, and it is called the West Clarkson Cemetery Association. For the foregoing facts we are in the main indebted to Mr. E. H. Campbell.
The ground contains the living as well as the dead, for woodchuck holes are plenty, and the woodchucks know a good dry soil when they find it. This ground is in about the same condition as to grass and weeds as those previously described.
In this connection the fact may well be stated that in grading down the road several years ago just across the brook from the cemetery, human bones were found. It was believed that they were those of an Indian, but they might have been those of an early settler, or some pioneer traveler who died and was buried by the roadside, as such events sometimes occurred.
By the tombstone record, the first burial as shown was that of Sarah, wife of Rufus Harmon, who died January 11, 1811, aged 42 years. Her husband died July 9, 1817, aged 47.
John Ross, an early owner of the land on which the cemetery is located, died April 10, 1854, aged 7d years. Sally, his widow, died August 20, 1860, aged 76 years.
Hannah M. Cooley died October 6, 1869, aged 67 years.
Valentine W. Rathbone, brother of the noted stove maker of Albany, lived on the farm next west of the cemetery. He died February 9, 1837, aged 92 years.
Anna, widow of Timothy Forsyth and mother of David Forsyth, died February 9, 1837, aged 92 years.
David Forsyth was an early settler, and lived on what is now known as the Matthew A. Patterson farm. He was elected pound keeper at the first town election held in 1820. We have the information, derived from some source, that he sold the farm in 1849 and removed to Michigan. The following tombstone record indicates that both he and his wife were buried in the cemetery: David Forsyth died August 2, 1864, aged 81 years; Betsey, his wife, died June 12, 1860, aged 71 years.
Levina, wife of Salmon Sawyer, died September 20, 1840, aged 66 years.
The following soldier burials were found: Albert H. Combs, Co. E, 142nd N. Y. Inf., died May 15, 1875, aged 32 years; George L. Smith, Co. E, 50th Reg. Engs. died September 4, 1866, aged 24 years; George W. Steele, killed at the Battle of Gettysburg, July 2, 1863, aged 19 years; Charles A. Redman died in camp near Falmouth, Va., January 10, 1863, aged 23 years; Franklin B. Otis, 23th N. Y. 2nd Bat., died April 5, 1863, aged 32 years; Corp. B. T. Perrigo, Co. A, l40th N. Y. Inf. - the date and age of his death are not given.
Tobel W. Wetterby died June 20, 1831, aged 67 years- Betsey, his widow, died September 27, 1860, aged 75 years.
Smith D. Gates died 29, 1859, aged 48 years.
Arad Gilbert was an early settler who lived and died on the farm now owned by A. C. Chriswell. He was a stirring man, and in his day was well known. He died July 23, 1849, aged 62 years. Lorinda, his widow, died March 17, 1874, aged 78 years. She was a very patriotic lady and did very much for the soldier boys and the loyal cause.
Abigail, wife of Levi E. Lattimer, died November 30, 1847, aged 63 years.
Nabby, wife of Moses Nash, died January 20, 1829, aged 43 years.
Elihu Russell, born in Duchess Co., N. Y., died January 26, 1867, aged 67 years.
Anna Theresa, widov of John Russell, and probably mother of Elihu Russell, died July 12, 1856, aged 90 years.
Laura, wife of John Barrows, died January 20, 1855, aged 52 years.
Elder William Blake, a Second Adventist exponent, lived at Redman Corners, where he died July 6, 1855, aged 66 years. Abigail, his wife, died July 11, 1827, aged 36 years.
Anna, wife of Amizah Blake, died January 28, 1872, aged 58 years.
Joseph C. Blake lived at Redman Corners. Electa, wife of Joseph, died March 17, 1844, aged 40 years. About 20 years ago, Joseph C. Blake removed to Michigan, and we believe he is still living.
Sarah, wife of William Blake, probably the mother of the Elder, died October 23, 1853, aged 88 years.
Lydia, the first of Joshua Field's four wives, died November 8, 1823, aged 28 years.
John Farwell in 1804 bought land a short distance west of Redman Corners, and sold the same to Capt. Isaac Allen in 1823. Fe was one of the earliest of the settlers. He died April 15, 1823 (perhaps before the farm was sold), aged 31 years.
Sarah, wife of Albert Salisbury, died May 27, 1853, aged 65 years. The family lived where William Swift resides.
Dr. Alphonzo Perry, a prominent citizen of the town, and or two years a member of the State Legislature, died July 11, 1870, aged 64 years. He owned and lived on the farm now owned by Reuben Paine.
Patience, first wife of Samuel C. Perry, died February 13, 1845, aged 30 years. Louisa, his 2nd wife, died November 9. 1855, aged 41 years.
Gen. Lewis Swift, father of Prof. Lewis Swift of Rochester, and the late George W. Swift of Clarkson, first lived next to the Church, the Peter De Graff place, and then bought what is now the George Cotter farm. On the back end of this farm he ran a carding mill. He was an inventor of horse-rakes, and a man of much more than ordinary ability. He came to Clarkson in 1812, and died March 5, 1846, aged 62 years. Anna, his widow, died August 30, 1852, aged 67 years.
George W. Swift, who lived where his father had died, died November 21, 1876, aged 53 years. Mary J., his wife, died October 7, 1872, aged 4 years.
Henry Price died August 11, 1846, aged 72 years. He was the father of Reuben R. Price.
J. Frederick Bellinger, or John F. Bellinger, as the name was used, came to Clarkson in 1822. Before coming, October 18, 1818, he was married to Ann Marcellus. Fe carried on the tailoring business, and in his advertisement of June 12, 1835, in the Clarkson-Jefferson he says, "he would inform his friends and the public generally, that he has removed his shop to the one formerly occupied by Silas Smith." He was the father of Charles H. Bellinger. He died February 12, 1880, aged 85 years. His widow, Ann Marcellus, died August 23, 1887, aged 88 years.
This is a continuation of an article partly published a week ago, and relates wholly to persons buried in the Clarkson Cemetery, about a mile west of the village.
Henry Rowley died Oct. 12, 1859, aged 65 years.
Abner Goodell for a time principal of the Clarkson Academy, died March 29, 1845 aged 39 years.
Helen, wife of Rev. M. G. Adkins, died Oct. 21, 1853, aged 38 years.
William Seaton died Feb. 28, 1874, aged 77 years. Jane, his wife, died May 7, 1872, aged 76 years.
James Lowery, who has a surviving son at Albion and a daughter at Brockport, died Jan. 29, 1859, aged 60 years. Jane Jameson, his widow, died Nov. 14, 1871, aged 68 years.
Dr. Elijah Rowell was a native of Hopkinton, N. H. He came to Clarkson in 1811, and located where his son Solon Rowell lives. Of his experiences in making the journey to his new home, he several years ago wrote: "The distance from Hopkington to Clarkson is about three hundred miles, one-half of which the horses trod in mud and clay mortar nearly over their hoofs." On Jan. 12, 1814, he wrote: "I have now returned from the army where I was employed as surgeon." He was chosen one of the town commissioners of schools at several elections. He died Oct. 24, 1862, aged 78 years. Sarah, his wife, died Aug. 1, 1852, aged 66 years.
Dr. Nathaniel Rowell came to Clarkson in 1810 or 1811 from Hanover, N. H. He and Elijah Rowell were brothers, and both, were physicians of excellent repute. Nathaniel Rowell died in 1826.
Daniel Clark died Aug. 21, 1848, aged 58 years. Nancy Wattles, his wife, died Oct. 15, 1837, aged 47 years. Her mother, Ann Wattles, died Dec. 31, 1836, aged 79 years. Chloe, first wife of Eli Watkins, died May 22, 1833, aged 37 years. Polly, his second wife, died Jan. 25, 1865, aged 65 years.
Aaron Gage died May 25, 1866, aged 55 years.
Anna Hiserodt died March 3, 1844, aged 65 years.
Ira Crawford, who lives at the first corner north of the Mile canal bridge, died Feb. 9, 1843, aged 50 years. Eunice, his widow, died on the same farm Oct. 17, 1887, aged 93 years. They first came to Ladd's Corners in 1816. He was a carpenter.
Mrs. B. T. Perrigo came to Clarkson in 1831 from Ontario County. She died Nov. 16, 1885, aged 74 years. She was a devoted friend of the soldier boys.
Lewis D. Chapman lived a little north of Redman's Corners. He died Feb. 9, 1871, aged 55 years.
Calvin Freeman was probably a pioneer settler, but he was not one of the first land purchasers. He died July l, 1870, aged 92 years. His wife, Betsey, died April 8, 1862, aged 75 years.
John W. Perry died Dec. 7, 1873, aged 77 years. Deborah C., his wife, died Nov. 11, 1870, aged 70 years.
Rufus Scofield, father of Rufus H. Scofield, died in 1865, aged 71 years. Susan, his widow, died in 1875, aged 78 years.
Dr. Abel Baldwin moved into Clarkson with his family in 1811. Much of his history and experience have already been published. He lived at first in a log house. He owned the farm now owned by Charles H. Bellinger, and carried on farming, and a period ran a hotel. He was a shrewd, economic and successful man. He died June 2, 1864, aged 80 years. Laura, his wife, died May 29, 1861, aged 75 years. Hon. Henry R. Selden married a daughter of his. They have a monument with "Baldwin" on one side and "Selden" on the other. Mr. Selden removed to Rochester in April, 1859, and when he died there his remains were interred there.
Luther H. Johnson died Nov. 15, 1872, aged 69 years. Celine, his widow, died May 9, 1880, aged 79 years.
Ezekiel Johnson, probably the father of Luther H., died Sept. 16, 1842, aged 61 years. Phebe, his widow, died Jan. 6, 1847, aged 62 years.
Rev. Norris Bull, D. D., was a native of Harwinton, Conn. He died Dec. 7, 1847, aged 57 years. His widow, Mary Ann Henry, died July 19, 1851, aged 56 years.
Elijah Drake died March 19, 1847, aged 75 years. Elijah Drake, his son, died Jan. 26, 1889, aged 69 years.
Henry Ripson died June 29, 1850, aged 76 years. Abagail, his widow, died April 13, I863, aged 8l years.
John Redman 2d died Feb. 26, 1829, aged 47 years. Polly, his widow, died May 21, 1858, aged 72 years. John Redman 2d was the pioneer Redman, and after whom Redman's Gorners were named. A brief sketch of the early history of the place will be given in a later article.
Hiram Redman, auctioneer, son of John Redman 2d, lived just west of Redman's Corners. He died May 1, I879, aged 64 years. His funeral was probably the most largely attended that was ever held in the town. James H., and Wallace Redman are his sons.
David S. Redman died Feb. 8, 1856, aged 58 years. Abagail, his wife, died Sept. 11, 1810, aged 38 years.
Samuel Whipnle died Sept. 23, 1858, aged 61 years. Phebe, his widow, died Oct. 13, 1878, aged 83 years.
Esther K., wife of John R. Randolph, died June 13, 1852, aged 23 years.
Lucy, widow of Noah Fuller, died March 16, 1855, aged 84 years.
John Oliver died Jan. 29, 1852, aged 77 years.
William Peck died Sept. 13, 1840, aged 63 years. Nancy, his widow, died April 21, 1861, aged 82 years.
William Clark died Jan. 5, 1838, aged 58 years. Sally B., his first wife, died June 10, 1820, aged 40 years. Sally O., his second wife, died Aug. 14, 1828, aged 44 years.
John Blodgett came to Clarkson in 1816 and owned the Blodgett farm between Clarkson village and Brockport. He built a gristmill where the present mill stands. He was killed by being struck by the limb of a falling tree Jan. 18, 1848, and was aged 61 years.
Elijah Blodgett died Feb. 25, 1858, aged 42 years. Caroline A. his widow, died Aug. 24, 1888, aged 71 years.
Ann Drake died May 16, 1831, aged 71 years.
John Bowman owned the premises and lived where Clark Allen resides. William H. and John Bowman were his sons. He practiced law, and was for several years the county judge. He died Sept. 11, 1853, aged 71 years. Lovice, his widow, died Oct. 17, 1850, aged 78 years.
John Parmalee died June 16, 1838, aged 68 years,
Levi Smith died May 7, 1854, aged 80 years. Irena, his wife, died Kay 15, 1842, aged 63 years.
James M. Clark owned the cemetery farm for a time, and gave land for cemetery purposes, as before stated. He died June 1, 1835, aged 52 years. Maria, his wife, died Sept. 6, 1833, aged 43 years.
David Perrigo died May 28, 1843, aged 77 years.. Nancy, his wife, died April 11, 1840, aged 55 years.
Mrs. Searles Yates died Dec. 23, 1874, aged 84 years
Rachel, widow of Dr. Benjamin Walker, died June 15, 1887, aged 75 years.
Rachel, wife of Asa L. Johnson, died Feb. 6, 1887, aged 70 years.
Ambrose Sanford came to Clarkson in 1840 from New Lebanon, Columbia County, N. Y. He died nearly opposite the cemetery, the farm then being owned by him, Feb., 6, 1887, aged 70 years. Elida L., his first wife, died Oct, 16, 1859, aged 34 years. Emma A., his second wife, died Feb. 1, 1874, aged 29 years.
Elizabeth, wife of Adam Reamer, died Jan, 6, 1848, aged 71 years,
Col. Simeon B. Jewett, Dr. Nathaniel Rowell, and some others of whom previous sketches have been given, are buried in this cemetery.
In these notices it is probable that some of the early residents buried in this cemetery have been overlooked. We shall be pleased to publish brief historic sketches of any such, or fuller sketches of interest of those who have been mentioned.
The government has made provision for providing the grave of every deceased soldier with headstones, and where such stones have not been provided it is not the fault of relatives, but the neglect of those representing the soldiers.
In the article a week ago the name of Mrs. Sanford was given as the donor of some land to the cemetery. It should have been Mrs. E. H. Campbell.
We again present some personal sketches of early settlers.
William Ireland was born in England, came to this country in 1833, and located in the east part of Clarkson. He died Nov. 3, 1887, aged 85 years. Frances, his wife, died May 20, 1875, aged 72 years.
Thomas Chriswell was born in Seneca County, N. Y., came to Clarkson in 1806 and first lived on the Drake Road. Later he lived on the Ridge Road on the farm next west of what is known as the Rowley place. Still later he lived on the Arad Gilbert farm, in a log house on the east side of the road, that stood back of where the Chapman house stands..He was a captain in the War of 1812, and a man prominent in public affairs. He died Dec. 20, 1876, aged 91 years, and was buried in the Brockport Cemetery. Betsey, his wife, died July 4, 1858, aged 65 years.
Elon Lee was born at Guilford, Conn., Dec, 15, 1790. Dec 25, 1811, he was married to Lydia Palmer. His first wife died, and in 1823 he married Eunice Howard. His second wife died, and in 1856 he married Marietta Dudley. In 1834 he became a resident of that portion of Clarkson that in 1852 by division became Union, and later, by change of name, is now Hamlin. In 1855 be removed to Clarkson village, where he died Nov. 6, 1887, aged 97 years. He was buried at East Sweden. George H. Lee, formerly of Hamlin, and for a time its supervisor, is his son.
Moody Freeman, who was the first purchaser of land in what is now Clarkson and Hamlin, that is in 1803, was a middle aged man, had a wife and son, if not a larger family. The land he bought was that now owned by William Steele. He was from Hanover N. H. For a time he was a justice of the peace.
William Lowery lived for many years on the Drake Road. He removed to Parma, where he died August 1, 1884, aged 80 years. He had several children, one of whom became the wife of John H. Hubbard.
M. D. Phillips, Esq., of Rochester, has kindly furnished the following list of Clarkson postmasters:
|Postmasters.||Date of Appointment.|
|Gustavus Clark||Apr. 24, 1830|
|Henry Martin||June 19, 1837|
|Silas Walbridge||June 10, 1841|
|Gustavus Clark||Aug. 15, 1843|
|Silas Walbridge||Apr. 19, 1849|
|Henry M. Haskell||Nov. 18, 1854|
|Moses S. Barker||Jan. 22, 1856|
|Henry M. Haskell||Mar. 14, 1861|
|John B. Haskell||Dec. 9, 1864|
|Adam Moore||Mar. 18, 1867|
|George W. Miller||Apr. 17, 1876|
|Emina P. Miller||Nov. 12, 1878|
|Adam Moore||Mar. 28, 1879|
|Washington L. Rockwell||Sept. 23, 1885|
|Frederick A. Moore||May 2, 1889|
On the Redman Road in Hamlin, about half a mile north of the Sandy Creek, is an old and small cemetery that dates back to the early years of this century, and which contains the ashes of some of the pioneer settlers of the town of Clarkson. The land embraced in this cemetery may be a little over half an acre, is sandy and dry, and was a good burial place in its day. It has, apparently, been wholly abandoned for burial purposes, and with its dense growth of weeds, bushes and trees is a forcible illustration of how dismal a place an old cemetery may become. There are many graves without headstones; some with ordinary field stone; some with broken marble; and nearly all of the stones in good standing are greatly obscured by the rank weeds and bushes. There are no monuments in the ground. In this cemetery there are probably about fifty persons buried. As will appear further on, the earliest date of a recorded death is in 1823.
Howard Manley was one of the pioneer settlers, and he lived on the Redman Road where his son Howard now lives, and died there. He came from Massachusetts with two brothers. They came with three yoke of oxen, and were twenty-two days making the journey. We have no record of the death of Mr. Manley, but we find that Lois, his wife, died January, 1859, aged 65 years.
David Hoyt died April 1, 1859, aged 77 years.. Deborah T., his widow, died Dec. 14, 1864, aged 81 years.
George Pease, who was an early settler, died June 10, 1823, aged 43 years. Betsey, his widow, died Feb. 18, 1849, aged 61 years.
Benjamin Comstock was also an early settler. He died August 16, 1823, aged 64 years.
Calvin Wilcox is buried in this cemetery. His broken stone obliterates his record.
Luther H. Webster was a well known early resident. He died Hay 6, 1865, aged 65 years.
Sarah, wife of Ira Hosklns, died March 28, 1855, aged 53 years.
Rebecca K., wife of Zadoc Howard, died March 7, 1851, aged 25 years.
We herewith continue the sketches of persons who were well known and lived to good old age.
Mrs. James Adams died July 1, 1871, aged 70 years.
Huldah Wilson, mother of Mrs. J. K. Vosburgh, died Aug. 2, 1875, aged 82 years.
Orin Wheeler died Feb. 19, 1866, aged 75 years.
Ester D., widow of Silas D. Walbridge, for a long time a resident of Clarkson, died at Rochester, March 10, 1876, aged 90 years.
Mrs. Dorcas Ruggles died Jan. 31, 1887, aged 81 years.
George Rice died Jan. 7, 1862, aged 89 years.
John Nesbit died in Hamlin March 1, 1880, aged 92 years.
Adeline, wife of John Rice, died Feb. 29, 1880, aged 66 years.
Timothy Rice died in Hamlin Feb. 22, 1878, aged 85 years.
Joseph Mc Creery died in Clarkson Nov. 22, 1859, aged 70 years.
John Miller died Feb. 16, 1862, aged 85 years.
Mary A. Mershon died May 25, 187I, aged 75 years.
William Fielden died Sept. 20, 1886, aged 83 years.
Lydia Ferris died in Union Sept. 30, 1858, aged 87 years.
William Flood died May 16, 1873, aged 80 years-
Rachel Mc Intire died March 11, 1865, aged 88 years. ,
John F. Hamlin came to the town in 1S33. He died May 15, 1886, aged 68 years. Emeline, his wife, died Feb. 9, 1886, aged 74 years.
Jane Jackson died Sept. 10, 1871, aged 73 years.
Phoebe Haight, widow of Moses Haight, died Feb. 8, 1860, aged 70 years.
Elijah Hamlin, who had been a resident of Clarkson, died at Avon, Oakland County, Mich., April 12, 1858, aged 91 years.
Deborah Ann Hammon, widow of Shubel Hammon, died Jan. 1, 1877, aged 74 years.
Mrs. Sally Ann Sage died Dec. 19, 1884, aged 78 years.
John Steele died Oct. 7, 1886, aged 84 years.
Enoch Sweat, a carriage builder, died Sept. 2, 1878, aged 73 years.
Adam Snyder died Dec 1, 1879, aged 81 years. His widow died Oct. 31, 1880, aged 82 years.
George Storms died July 15, 1879, aged 79 years.
Mrs. Sally M. Sweat died Feb. 7, 1883, aged 72 years.
Aaron G. Smith died Aug. 6, 1882, aged 92 years.
Experience Stow died Aug. 16, 1871, aged 74 years.
Samuel Smith died Nov. 24, 1860, aged 78 years.
Mrs. Henry R. Selden died May 29, 1861, aged 75 years.
Silas Spaulding, father of the late Sidney Spaulding, of Brockport, died Nov. 29, 1864, aged 79 years.
Mrs. William Seaton died May 2, 1871, aged 76 years.
Benjamin F. Coleman died Oct. 22, 1880, aged 68 years.
Isem Clark died Dec 12, 1885, aged 86 years.
Mrs. David Demarest died Dec 8, 1875, aged 75 years.
N. Clark died Jan. 4, 1875, aged 93 years.
Catharine Cropsey, widow of Jaccamiah Cropsey, died April 20, 1884, aged 81 years. Her husband died thirteen years previous.
Mrs. Clara Coleman died at Redman's Corners Apr. 2, 1876, aged 87 years.
Margaret Cooper died Jan. 26, 1886, aged 84 years.
Mrs. George B. Lewis died April 9, 1871, aged 76 years.
Anna Perry died Feb. 9, 1871, aged 84 years.
Eliza A. Bushnell died Oct. 4, 1879, aged 75 years.
Eliza A. Bishop died Dec. 20, 1883, aged 81 years.
Oliver Babcock died July 8, 1884, aged 80 years.
Frederick Babcock died Aug. 16, 1861, aged 79 years.
Maria Babcock died May 9, 1887, aged 79 years.
Amasa Spring died in July, 1860, aged. 65 years.
Isaac Bristol died Feb. 1, 1876, aged 85 years.
James Brower died Sept. 18, 1871, aged 87 years.
Sarah, widow of James Brown, died Anril 22, 1883, aged 86 years,
Note: In the list of postmasters published a week ago the name of John M. Bowman was accidentally omitted. Be held the office from May 23, 1853 till Nov. 18, 1855. There was also a misprint in the name of the successor of George ¥. Miller. It was Emma P. Miller.
As we have before stated, the first general election was held in the town on the 4th, 5th and 6th days of November in the year 1822. The election was held each day at a different place, a sort of going around a circuit. The inspectors of election were Aretas Haskell, Gustavus Clark, Lewis Swift, Theophilas Randall and Truman Cook. The officers voted for as stated were, governor, lieutenant governor, four senators for the eighth senatorial district, a member of congress, three members of assembly, a sheriff, a county clerk and four coroners. The following is the result of the vote as recorded:
For governor - Joseph C. Yates 182.
For lieutenant governor - Henry Huntington 135, Erastus Root 45.
For senator - Asa Lee Davidson 138, Elizur Webster 137, James Ganson 135, Calvin Filmore 122, Joseph Spencer 31, Heman J. Redfield 36, Timothy H. Porter 34, David Eason 33.
For member of congress - Moses Hayden 139, John H. Jones 36.
For member of assembly - John Bowman 178, Samuel B. Bradley 143, Simeon Stone 2d 135, Ezra Sheldon 40, Joseph Sibley 37, Wm. Graves 17
For sheriff - Solomon Close 141, Henry Fellows 17, John. P. Patterson 23.
For coroner - Major H. Smith 180, Reuben Willey 143, John Garbutt 143, William Cobb 143, Nathaniel Negus 37, John Armstrong 37, Orin E. Gibbs 37.
For county clerk - S. Melancton Smith 129, Elisha Ely 8.
It appears that one hundred and eighty-one votes were cast. But one candidate for governor was voted for. The Democratic vote averaged about 140, and the Whig vote about 40.
On the 3d, 4th and 5th of November, 1823, the next general election was held, and the following votes will show the candidates in the field for the respective offices:
For two senators - Robert Mc Kay 125, James Norton 119, John Bowman 100, James Mc Call 96.
For three members of assembly - Ashley Samson 125, Reuben Willey 123, Samuel B. Bradley 123, Enos Stone 96, Major H. Smith 95, Peter Price 96.
At this election 220 votes were polled, and the Whig vote was considerably increased.
The next year - the 1st, 2d and 3d day of November, 1824 - the election was held with the following result:
For governor - Dewitt Clinton 199, Samuel Youngs 121.
For lieutenant governor - James Talmadge 200, Erastus Root 116.
For senator - Samuel Wilkinson 199, Robert Fleming 118.
For member of congress - Moses Hayden 197, Charles H. Carroll 115.
For three members of assembly - Gustavus Clark 222, Thurlov Weed 200, Henry Fellows 200, James Seymour 112, Enos Stone 98, James Smith 109.
The vote at this election on the congressional candidates foots up 316, which was a large increase. Two noted candidates ran for office, Dewitt Clinton, the "father of the Erie Canal," and Thurlow Weed, then a resident of Rochester. The Democrats had an average majority of about 80. The inspectors of election were Gustavus Clark, Ezekiel Harmon, Witter Steward, Zebulon Williams and William Clark:
The election held on the 7th, 8th, and 9th days of November, 1825, resulted as follows:
For senator - Benedict Brooks 137, Ethan B. Allen, 111.
For three members of assembly - James Smith 135, John P. Patterson 135, John Garbutt 135, Vincent Matthews 118, Henry Fellows 116, Isaac Lacey 116.
For sheriff - James Seymour 156, Jacob Gould 94.
For county clerk - Timothy Boardman 136, Simeon Stone 2d ll4.
For four coroners - Reuben Wiley 135, Nathaniel Negus 135, George Brewer 135, Samuel Castle 135, Joseph Thompson 115, James Sperry 115, William Brewster 115, Peter Hopkins 115.
The vote was a light one as the whole numbered but 250. The Democratic majorities ranged from 20 to 60..
In 1826 the general election was held November 6th, 7th and 8th with the following vote:
For governor - DeWitt Clinton 127, William B. Rochester 150.
For lieutenant governor - Henry Huntington 127, Nathaniel Pitcher 151.
For senator - John Van Tossen 177, Charles H. Carroll 149.
For member of congress - Enos Pomeroy 174, Daniel D. Barnard 139.
For three members of assembly - Jacob Gould 170, Jeremy S. Stone 172, Joseph Thompson 172, Peter Price 151, Abelard Reynolds 152, Joseph Sibley 152.
At this time the State senator was chosen for but one year. The record of the above vote is apparently very imperfect, as it shows that for the candidates for governor the total vote was 277, for lieutenant governor 278, for senator 326, for member of congress 323.
The election of 1827 was held on the 5th, 6th and 7th days of November, when the following named candidates received the number of votes as stated:
For senator - Timothy Porter 408.
For three members of the assembly - Ezra Sheldon 295, Timothy Childs 295, Francis Storms 292, John P. Patterson 119, Samuel S. Selden 119, Peter Price 120.
Four justices of the peace for the town were also chosen at this election - Francis Losee 135, William Clark 134, Ariel Chase 127, Billa Cook 104, Samuel A. Perry 293, Adin Manley 289, Samuel Mead 289, William Groves 292.
There was but one candidate for senator, and his vote indicates the whole number of votes cast. The election of justices of the peace at the general election was pursuant to an act passed April 7, 1827. They were divided into four classes, and by lot Adin Manley became one, Samuel Mead two, William Groves three, and Samuel A. Perry four.
The general election held on the 3d, 4th and 5th of November, was the one of the most importance that had thus far occurred in the history of the town, as it included not only county and State officers, but for the first time presidential elect ors. The certificate of the election says that 493 votes were given for governor, 500 for lieutenant governor, 498 for senator, 508 for member of congress, and 508 for presidential electors. The general vote was as follows:
For governor - Martin Van Buren 238, Solomon Southwick 127, Smith Thompson 128.
For lieutenant governor - Francis Granger 119, John Crary l40, Enos L. Throop 241.
For member of congress - Addison Gardner 248, Timothy Childs 227, Daniel D. Barnard 33.
Presidential electors - James K. Gurnsey 259, Matthew Warner 249.
For three members of the assembly - Heman Norton 228, Reuben Willey 228, John Garbutt 228, Isaac Jackson 270, John Williams 269, Eiisha Taylor 270.
For sheriff - James K. Livingston 226, William J. Mc Cracken 7, Peter Price 265.
For four coroners - Rufus Beach 228, Levi Pond 228, John Armstrong 228, Levi Lacy 228, William Williams 270, Peter Hopkins 270, Clark Butler 270, Aaron Newton 270.
For senator - Daniel H. Fitzhugh 242, Philander Bennett 242, William H. Spencer 42.
There appears to have been three sets of candidates for most of the offices. It was probably one of the early Democrat splits. The inspectors of election were William Groves, Henry Ketcham, Stephen Randall and John Palmer.
In 1829 the general election was held on the 2d, 3d and 4th days of November with the following results:
For senator - Albert H. Tracy 224, Samuel Russell 222.
For three assemblymen - Enos Stone 228, Timothy Barnard 228, Joseph Sibley 227, Ezra Sheldon 216, Thurlow Weed 216, Joseph Randall 216, Gustavus Clark 1.
The whole vote was 446, and as between the two parties was quite close. The record was made up by Gustavus Clark, and was business-like and clear.
The general election of 1830 was held November 1st, 2d and 3d with the following outcome:
For governor - Enos T. Throop 286, Francis Granger 229.
For lieutenant governor --Edward P. Livingston 286, Samuel Stevens 229.
For senator - Joseph Sibley 288, Abraham Cantine 288, Trumbell Cary 228, Philo C. Fuller 228. This is the record, but it is clearly erroneous, as there is a total of 1,162 votes.
For member of congress - Calvin H. Bryan 292, Frederick Whittlesey 271.
For three members of assembly - John E. Patterson 289, Daniel D. Barnard 290, Emanuel Case 289, Isaac Lacy 226, Samuel G. Andrews 226, Peter Price 223.
The inspectors of election were Henry Martin, Aretas Easkell, Billa Cook and Martin C. Witbeck.
On the 7th, 8th and 9th days of November, 1831, the general election resulted:
For senator - Heman J. Redfield 232, John Birdsell 166.
For three members of the assembly - Fletcher M. Haight 235, James Smith 235, Abel Baldwin 233, Samuel G. Andrews 159, Ira Bellows 159, William B. Brown 159.
For sheriff - Seth Saxton 236, Ezra M. Parsons 159.
For county clerk - Austin Spencer 236, Leonard Adams 158.
For four coroners - Adonijah Grau 234, Elisha P. Davis 234, James Sperry 234, Jamin Strong 234, Nathaniel Hall 159, Asbel W. Riley 159, Levi Pond 157, Joshua Tripp 159.
On the 5th, 6th and 7th days of November, 1832, occurred the usual election, and with the vote for presidential electors added.
For governor - William L. Marcy 314, Francis Granger 263.
For lieutenant governor - John Tracy 214, Samuel Stevens 263.
For senator - Fletcher M. Haight 314, John Griffin 262.
For member of congress - Isaac Hills, 315, Frederick Whittlesey 261.
For presidential electors - the Democratic ticket 313, the Whig ticket 267.
For three members of the assembly - David S. Bates 318, Joseph Sibley 318, Roswell Wickwin 318, Timothy Childs 257, Milton Sheldon 257, Levi Pond 257.
The Democratic majority on presidential electors was 46. The whole vote was 580, and the largest that had thus far been cast in the town.
Result of the election held November 4th, 5th and 6th, 1833:
For senator - John H. Jones 338, Albert H. Tracy 125.
For three members of assembly - Elihu Church 337, Fletcher K. Haight 339, Jeremy L. Stone 337, Isaac Lacy 133, Timothy Childs 121, Chauncey Porter 122.
The inspectors Of election, Gershom B. Gillett, James Hoy, John C. Annin and William Clark, "Do further certify that no votes were given either for or against electing the mayor of New York by the electors thereof; that 216 votes were given for authorizing the legislature to reduce the duty on salt.
The Whig vote was very light at this election, being but a little over one-third of the total vote.
Result of the election held on the 3d, 5th and 5th days of (November, 1835:
For governor - William L. Marcy 376, William H. Seward 261.
For lieutenant governor - John Tracy 377, Silas M. Stillwell 262.
For senator - James Smith 377, Benjamin Chamberlin 377, Isaac Lacy 261, Chauncey J. Fox 261
For member of congress - Fletcher M. Haight 382, Timothy Childs 255.
For three members of assembly - Horace Gay 376, Silas Judson 376, Samuel Rich 376, Dedrich Sibley 252, George Brown 252, Enoch Strong 251.
For sheriff - John E.. Patterson 376, Elias Pond 250.. For county clerk - Seth Saxton 376,- Samuel G. Andrews 252.
For four coroners - Sylvester H. Parkance 376, Samuel Mead 373, Peter Hopkins 376, Joseph A. Eastman 376, Ashbel W. Riley 252, Joseph Greenleaf 252, Phidrus Carter 252, George S. Stone 252.
This was the first candidacy of William H. Seward for governor. At this or a subsequent election Elias Pond, (brother of Levi Pond, a well known Brockporter of many years ago) was chosen sheriff. Simeon B. Jewett was one of the inspectors of election.
The election held November 2d, 3d, and 4th, 1835, resulted:
For senator - Benjamin Walworth 335, Chauncey I. Fox 116.
For three members of assembly - Horace Gay 333, Joseph Sibley 333, Micajah W. Kirby 333, Dedrick Sibley 119, Enoch Strong 119, Silas Walker 119.
For coroner - Francis X. Beckwith 333, Ephraim Gilbert 99.
On the 7th, 8th and 9th of November, 1836, the interest in the election was increased by voting for presidential electors. The vote resulted:
For governor - William L. Marcy 329, Jesse Buel 250.
For lieutenant governor - John Tracy 379, Gameelish H. Barstow 250.
For senator - Alexis Warner 329, Samuel Work 250.
For member of assembly - Horace Gay 327, Timothy Childs 249.
For presidential electors - the Democratic ticket 320, the Whig ticket 260.
For three members of assembly - Hister L. Stevens 320, Micajah W. Kirby 329, John E. Patterson 329, Dedrich Sibley 250, Silas Walker 250, Levi Russell 250.
John E. Patterson was a Democrat at that time. In later years he became a Republican. He lived in Parma.
The town book, from which these election statistics are com piled, was in the main excellently kept, but there are very confusing exceptions.
In 1837 the general election was held on the 6th, 7th and 8th days of November with this result:
For senator - John B. Skinner 243, William A. Mosely 252.
For three members of assembly - Abershai Goodell 242, Philander Kane 242, Henry O'Reilly 24l, Derick Sibley 255, Ezra Sheldon Jr., 256, John Patterson 25).
For sheriff - Peter Hopkins 248, Darius Perrin 251.
For county clerk - Henry R. Selden 254, Ephraim Goss 245.
For four coroners - John Armstrong 242, Sylvester H. Packard 242, Daniel Rich 242, Ephraim Blackmore 242, Davis Carpenter 254, Silas Walker 256, William G. Russell 256, Benjamin F. Hall 256.
It will be observed that at this election Henry R. Selden, then a Democrat, was running for the office of county clerk, and that Dr. Davis Carpenter was one of the candidates for coroner. The vote was very close.
Here is the result of the vote cast at the election held Nov. 5th, 6th and 7th, 1838:
For governor - William H. Seward 342, William L. Marcy 312.
For lieutenant governor - Luther Bradish 34l, John Tracy 312.
For senator - Henry Hawkins 339, Addison Gardner 312.
For member of congress - Thomas Kempshall 337, Henry R. Selden 321.
For three members of assembly - William S. Bishop 343 John P. Stull 343, Henry P. Norton 343, James H. Gregory 312, Isaac Jackson 312, Joseph Cox 312.
Hon. Henry P. Norton was elected. The inspectors of election at this time were Theodore Chapin, Azariah Ashley, Stephen Randall and Henry L. Smith.
The election on the 4th, 5th and 6th days of November, 1839, resulted:
For senator - Isaac R. Elwood 346, Abram Dixon 324.
For three members of assembly - Luther Tucker 338, Alexander Voorhees 338, William H. Seymour 337, Enos Strong 330, Derrick Sibley 330, George Brown 330.
On the 2d, 3d and 4th days of November, 1840, occurred the general election including presidential electors, with this result:
For governor - William H. Seward 355, William C. Bouck 376.
For lieutenant governor - Luther Bradish 355, Daniel S.. Dickinson 376.
For senator - Samuel Works 355, John D. Hudson 376.
For member of congress --Timothy Childs 359, Lyman B. Langworthy 368.
For presidential electors - the Democratic ticket 371, the Whig ticket 358.
For three members of assembly - Enoch Strong 357, Lucius Lilly 356, Alexander Kelsey 356, E. Henry Barnard 373, Samuel Bayliss 373, Josiah Howell 373.
For sheriff - Charles L. Pardee 356, Joseph Sibley 373.
For county clerk - James W. Smith 356, Isaac Hills 373.
For four coroners - Davis Carpenter 356, James Hodges 356, Nathaniel Hall 356, John H. Thompson 322, John Armstrong 373, Francis X. Beckwith 373, Nicholas Read 373, Harry P. Dannals 373.
The total vote was 731, which was very large. The Democrats had an average majority of about 20., The subscribing inspectors of election were William Groves, Stephen Randall, James R. Thompson, Edward Ruggles and Henry L. Smith.
The following was the result of the election held Nov. 1st, 2d and 3d, 1841:
For senator - Lyman Bates 378, Gideon Hard 315.
For four members of assembly - Lyman B. Langworthy 376, Henry Martin 384, Joseph Sibley 379, George S. Stone 312, Frederick Starr 315, Henry R. Higgins 314, Asa Pride 1, William C. B1oss 1, John Efner 1, Delazon Smith 2.
Though the town was not divided until 1852 by the setting off of Union, (now Hamlin) and the record book covers the whole period until that date, from 1841 till 1852 there is no record of a general election. The record is quite complete of the town elections, the lay out of roads, the boundary of road districts, the appointment of pathmasters, a register of livestock marks, list of strays, etc. It is probable that no record of the vote cast at the general elections was made later than 1841, unless it has been resumed since 1852.
The town record does not make, mention of any arrangements for holding the general elections of the places for holding the elections, compensation to the persons where held, the pay of clerks, Inspectors, etc., Five inspectors were chosen annually, and so many of then as served signed the certificates of the general elections.
At the town election held in 1841 the entire action taken, besides the choice of town officers, was voting "That we have three assessors, four constables; that the inspectors of common schools be allowed $1 per day for services rendered; that the collector collect the taxes for three percent, and that the town meeting be adjourned until the first Tuesday in March next, to be held at the house of Alexander Hilton." No provision was made for the general election, and it is not shown by the record that any meeting was held during the year to arrange for elections or the payment of bills.
The general election notes that we have published possess much historical interest in showing who were candidates for offices, and how the vote as to parties stood.
In our previous article we stated that Elias Pond was a brother of Levi Pond. He was a son.
An old resident of Clarkson informs us that at different times the general three days elections were held at Clarkson Corners, Redman's Corners, Beach's Corners, Ladd's Corners, Kane's Corners, Hamlin Centre, at the Houston hotel east of Ladd's Corners, and at the red schoolhouse in the Wentworth district.
The vote for State senators is thus explained by a gentleman who began voting in the thirties. In the first place four were chosen, and it was decided by lot that ore was for one year, one for two years, one for three years, and one for four years. Thereafter one was elected annually, and when the record, to which we made previous reference, showed each party running for two candidates, there was a vacancy to fill. The record did not state this fact, and thus there appeared to be a large excess of votes.
It was customary in Clarkson at an early day to hold most of the town elections at a hotel at the village, and the custom has been quite generally followed up to the present time. It was always voted at a. town election at what place the next election would be held, until within some six or eight years. This was done in all of the towns, and some abuses followed, for instance, in Sweden a few written ballots located an election at Cooley's Basin. The law was changed, and in order to change the place of holding a town election, a notice must be given a stated period before an election of such an intention.
The places designated in Clarkson is a practical record of the hotel keepers of the different periods, and for this reason is of considerable interest.
The first election, on the 4th of April, 1820, was held at the hotel of Abel Baldwin. The next two years it was held at Aretas Haskell's. Then at Abel Baldwin's for two years. In 1826, 1827 and 1828 at the hotel of Silas Walbridge. In 1829 the election was held at the house of Adolphus Gulley, but it is not stated as being a hotel. In 1830 it was held, at the hotel of Joseph H. Lovejoy. In 1831 it was held at the Walbridge Hotel. In 1832 at Lovejoy's. In 1833 the place of election was at the schoolhouse near A. Salisbury's. In 1834, 1835, 1836 and 1837 at the inn of Oliver H. Boyd. In 1838 it was held at the hotel of Waterman Davis, who at a later date kept a hotel at Brockport. In 1839 the election was again held at the hotel of Silas Walbridge. In 1840 the election was held at the house of H. C. White. The next year it was again held at the Walbridge Hotel. The following year it was held at Alexander Hilton' s. In 1843 and 1844 the election was held at Samuel Brown's. In 1846 it was held at A. D. Raymond's. In 1846 it was held at Isaac Houston's. In 1847 it was held, at the house of Daniel Pease, now a resident of Brockport. 1848 the election was held at the house of Henry W. Burch, Clarkson Centre, now Hamlin village. In l849 the election was held at the house of James C. Patterson, who became a well known resident of Brockport. He lived at what is now Hamlin Centre. The election was held at his house in 1850, 1851, 1852, and it was voted to hold the election there in 1853, but the town was divided before that date. Thus it appears that the town elections for four years before the town was divided were held at Hamlin Centre.
On the Lake Road five miles north of Brockport is Beach's Corners - the four corners formed by the north and south Lake Road, and an east and west road extending from about a mile south of Kendall Mills to the Parma line. The latter is the dividing line between the present Clarkson and Hamlin.
At the first town election held in 1820 Ora Beach was appointed pathmaster of road district number 14. This district was described in 1821 as beginning at the four corners by Truman Cook's, (who lived on the Ladd Road,) west to the Lake Road. Those working out a road tax in that district at that time were Ora Beach, James Thorp, Billa Cook, James Spencer, Truman Cook and Allen Beach. The number of the district was first changed to 15, then 16, and lastly to 19. Until 1832 the name of Ora Beach appeared in the road district tax list, and for most of the time he was pathmaster. He either died in 1832 or removed from the town, as his name no longer appeared on the tax roll. As no property was taxed to the family in 1833, it is a fair supposition that the family removed away. The name of Allen Beach, previously mentioned, did not appear but once in the road district list. We have thus far been unable to ascertain what became of Ora Beach, from whom the name of Beach's Corners was derived. He lived in a house on the northeast corner of the four corners.
Beach's Corners has never contained directly more than four dwelling houses. The first house on the northwest corner was built by a man named R. D. Jones. The house on the southeast corner was used at an early day as a hotel, and the general elections were at times held there. The place never had a store or blacksmith shop.
On the 19th of June, 1824, three road districts were laid out with the following descriptions: "Beginning near the framed schoolhouse where Mr. Baxter lives at the northeast corner of lot number #1, section 11 of town 5, thence west on the line of lots 285 chains to the middle of the Lake Road." The next one is described as "beginning at the southeast corner of Lot in Section 9 of Town #5, near a log schoolhouse on the middle Lake Road, and running thence east on the line of lots 125 chains to the north and south road by Jeremiah Eosner's." The third is described as "beginning at the southwest corner of Lot #5 Section 11, Township 5, and running north on the line of lots 62 links to the road leading west past Jacob Hosner's." At that time Zenas Case was surveyor, and William Tompkins and Aretas Haskell commissioners of highways.
At the November election in 1826 an amendment to the constitution was voted upon - to elect justices of the peace by the people - in favor of which there were 228 votes, and none against. The amendment was adopted, and after that date justices were elected, having previously been appointed. In a previous article we gave the names of the four first chosen, and how their term of service was determined by lot. From that period until the present one justice has been chosen annually, except when there were vacancies to fill.
At the town election in 1831 it was voted "that fences shall be four and a half feet high, and so constructed or made of rails or other materials that the space between the rails or materials shall not be more than seven inches." That was a "lawful fence," and had such fences been kept up better than they sometimes were, there would have been fewer animosities between neighbors and much less litigation.
At the town election in 1836 it was "Resolved, that the commissioners of highways are hereby required to rebuild the bridge over Sandy Creek where the same crosses the West Lake Road." That was the present Redman Road, and the bridge was by the Brockway mills.
The sum of $9.42 was voted to Hammon & Stanton at the town election in 1842 for making ballot boxes.
After the division of the town the first town election was held at the hotel of Silas Walbridge, March l, 1853. At that election the following of fibers were chosen: Supervisor, James H. Warren; town clerk, Justus Palmer; justices of the peace, Wayne Markham, Lewis Files and Williams Johnson; superintendent of schools, David Henry; collector, Washington L. Rockwell; assessors, David Wellman and Chauncey Allen; commissioners of highways, T. C. Perry and Adam Moore; overseers of poor, John M, Bowman and Joseph Tozier; constables, Washington L. Rockwell, Eber Coleman, Edgar String and Ariel Wellman; inspectors of election, John M, Bowman, Jesse Harroun and Wiiliam Price. The pathmasters appointed were: District 1, Almansa Brace; 2, John Chriswell; 3, Edgar Spring; 4, William Porter; 6, Christopher Coker; 29, William Lowery, Sr.; 31, Daniel Belden; 30, Gordon Richards; 32, Edward Hawkins; 33, Wayne Markham; 34, Paul Snyder; 35, S. C. Perry; 37, Henry Nixon; 38, Samuel Whipple; 39, Henry Boutell; 57, Lawrence Cooper; 58, Seth Leonard; 59, Jonas Shafer; 60, James 0. Seigler; 61, Allen D, Tracy. The road district numbers were the same as used for the same districts before the town was divided. This election was held thirty-seven years ago. Many of those mentioned are now living in Clarkson and vicinity, and many have been recorded as occupants of the neighborhood cemeteries.
A special town meeting was held at the house of Daniel Pease on the 27th of April, 1837, to vote upon the question of granting excise licenses. The votes in favor of licenses were 317, and those against 260. Clarkson has usually been a for license town, at least in recent years. The vote refer red to was taken before the town was divided. At an early day there was a distillery of whiskey at the village, whiskey was cheap, and the distillery had a good patronage. It is related that on one occasion a man living three or four miles from the distillery started for it with a jug. People were exceedingly familiar and accommodating in the early times, and if one was passing the common salutation was, "Where are you going," He of course replied "to the distillery." When he got to the distillery he had twenty-two jugs, representing as many families. For this last item of olden time events we are indebted to the present chief dispenser of justice. Other towns had distilleries, and it does not follow from the facts stated that the people of Clarkson at any period aver aged better or worse than the people of other towns who did similar things.
Sometime ago in giving a list of the cemeteries established at an early date in the town of Clarkson, years before the town was divided, no mention was made of the cemetery established at Kane's Corners, now East Hamlin. That is a small cemetery, including only about half an acre of land. It is shaded by a few pine trees, and the rank growth of golden rod, milk weed and grass indicates that the soil of that locality is very fertile. The trees have so blackened some of the headstones that their inscriptions are illegible.
In obtaining a list of the principal persons buried in this cemetery, as shown by the inscriptions, the earliest burial found was that of Anna, wife of James Cheever, who died May 10, 1844, aged 55 years. There were perhaps earlier interments under the hillocks having no memorial stones.
Lawrence Tompkins died Oct. 24, 1848, aged 55 years.. Hannah, his widow, died March 30, 1866, aged 76 years.
Alburtus Simmons died May 10, 1879, aged 81 years. His wife died May 19, 1876, aged 78 years.
Mary, wife of Charles L. Tompkins, died Nov. 11, 1846, aged 26 years.
Eveline, wife of Joseph Thompson, died Sept. 13, 1846, aged 26 years.
Whitman Corbin died Sept. 7, 1853, aged 46 years.
John R. Ashby died June 18, 1862, aged 65 years.
Thomas Wingrove died Feb. 26, 1847, aged 71 years.
Mary Jane, wife of Wright Barlow, died Aug. 1, 1848, aged 24 years.
Robert Sharp died Aug. 23, 1853, aged 45 years.
Sarah, wife of Charles Murch, died Sept. 10, 1857, aged 41 years.
Jacob Hall died Feb. 18, 1861, aged 63 years, Emeline, his wife, died Oct. 11, 1859, aged 60 years.
Nelson Green died March 29, 1850, aged 40 years.
Jacob Fosmire died Oct. 25, 1851, aged 39 years.
Margaret E., wife of C. B. Lewis, died Aug. 12, 1858, aged 40 years.
Adeline, wife of John Mc Farland, (the stone being broken the age and date of death does not appear.
Margaret, wife of W. H. Coons, died Fob. 28, 1853, aged 85 years.
Eve, wife of Marcus Simmons, died March 1, 1851, aged 77 years.
Frankfort W. Wheelock died March 2. 1846, aged 32 years. Martha S., his wido-w, died Feb. 8, 1847, aged 25 years.
Thomas W. Harding died Feb. 26, 1847, aged 71 years.
There is but one monument in the cemetery, and it belongs to Ira B. Gates.
Kane's Corners (now East Hamlin) was named after William Kane, who died Nov. 28, 1863, aged 75 years, and was buried in the] Blossom Cemetery. In 1830 Philander Kane built the first hotel at Kane's Corners, and perhaps a share of the name of the place belongs to him.
As early as 1825, through the labors and. influence of that stirring preacher Elder Eli Hannibal, the Free Will Baptist Church Society was organized. In 1834 the society built a church, which stood about a mile north of the present edifice. A hamlet had grown up at Kane's Corners, and when a new church was to be erected, after something of a struggle, was located about a mile south of the old church.
Elisha Wheeler was the first postmaster at Kane's Corners, and was appointed during the Polk administration. Daniel Pease, now of Brockport, is credited with keeping the first store.
The place has fairly thrived. Soon after the opening of the new railroad new buildings were erected to some extent, and some of the old ones were greatly improved. There are now the church above referred to, two stores, a hotel, blacksmith shop, etc.
In 1811 Alanson Thomas settled at what is now called North Hamlin. He was an energetic man. Ee first built a gristmill and then a sawmill. The place was first known as "Thomas Mills," and later as "Thomasville." The Fourierite settlement, hitherto described in this series of articles, was located at this place. The Fourierites had a store. A hotel was kept for a time in the building now owned and occupied by Mr. Hovey as a store. Mr. Eovey started the first regular store, and still continues it. Mr. Williamson, now of Clarkson, conducted a rival store for a period.
The sawmill has been taken down. There is now a gristmill, store, blacksmith shop, schoolhouse and a few dwellings. The place never had a church. Mr. Hovey, the present store keeper, was the first postmaster, and now holds the office.
Thomasville, or North Hamlin as it is now called, is about a mile from Lake Ontario by the crooked road, on the east side of the Sandy Creek. Away back this locality was called Port Bayard, and it was a veritable port with a dock to which small sailing vessels came and from which they departed. There is about a mile of navigable water in the bay, and the best harbor on the Lake between Charlotte and Oak Orchard could be made at a moderate cost. At the head of the bay North Hamlin is situated.
In our last article on the early history of Clarkson we gave some account of the part taken by Alanson Thomas, after whom Thomasville was named. Since then we have received a call from his son Peleg Thomas, now a resident of Matamora, Lapeer County, Mich., who has given us a very interesting sketch of his father's history and added valuable information in regard to the. history of Clarkson before it was divided.
Peleg Thomas, the father if Alanson Thomas, a native of Rhode Island, was one of the first settlers of the town of Sweden. The family located northwest of the present Sweden Centre, on the farm next to the Chester Roberts farm, and there built a log gristmill on the small stream that crosses the Lake Road near the Hart place.
In or about 1817 Alanson Thomas removed from Sweden to where the Sandy Creek crosses the Redman Road, and took up his abode in a log house. There he built a sawmill and gristmill, the first located at that place, and which in later years became known as "Brockway' Mills."
In 1826 he removed to what is now called North Hamlin. He bought a farm of 156 acres, which included all of the land in the immediate vicinity of the gristmill now owned and conducted by Mr. Mockford. About seven years previous - about 1819 - Kearney Newell, in behalf of the Le Roy Land Company, caused a sawmill to be built. This sawmill was on the premises when the property was purchased by Alanson Thomas. Mr. Thomas built the first gristmill. When he first moved to Thomasville he lived in a big log house that stood east of the mill on the bank of the stream, with the road to the Lake passing on the south side of the house. After a time he built and lived in the house now owned and resided in by Mr. Mockford.
The first schoolhouse was a log building a mile south of the mill on the farm of Nathaniel Terry. The present Hovey building was first used as a tavern. In that building Ambrose Thomas, a son of Alanson Thomas, kept the first store.
When the Thomas family first removed into the town there were plenty of deer and other game in the woods, and the streams abounded in fish.
Mr. Alanson Thomas had what is sometimes termed an "old-fashioned family," that is a large family. His children in the order of their births were: Rowell, Peleg, Alanson, Le Roy, Dorcas, Ambrose, Lyman, Kearney, and Charles - 9 in all. About twenty years ago Mr. Alanson Thomas Sr. removed to Michigan, where he died Oct, 12, 1878, aged 89 years, and his remains were brought to Brockport and interred in the village cemetery. His wife Sarah, died June 20, 1862, aged 71 years, and was buried at Brockport. Rowell Thomas, the eldest son, removed to Minnesota, and now resides there. Peleg is a resident of Michigan as before stated. Alanson died in Hamlin June 18, 1851, aged 34 years, and was buried at Brockport. Le Roy is living in Michigan. Dorcas died in Michigan. Ambrose S. died in Hamlin, Feb. 5, 1855, aged 31 years, and was buried at Brockport. Lyman died in Illinois Feb. 18, 1858, aged 32 years, and his remains were interred at Brockport. Kearney lives in.Michigan. Charles died in Michigan.
Peleg Thomas, long a resident of Sweden, was a son of the original Peleg and a brother of the Alanson Thomas after whom Thomasville was named.
Before the town of Clarkson was divided the now Hamlin Centre was Clarkson Centre. But away back the four corners were known as Salisbury's Corners -named after Albert Salisbury, who became a resident in 1818, and several years later removed from the town. His was the only house for a time. Eli Mead, John Allen and John Nowlan were in the neighborhood. The first meeting house in what is now the town of Hamlin, and the second one in Clarkson, was built on the west side of the East Road a short distance north of the forks. It was a frame structure, had a steeple, and was considered excellent when erected. It was of the Free Will Baptist order, and among its ministers were Elders Hannibal, Woodard and Davis. The church was burned.
A short distance south of the. church mentioned, on the same side of the road, was a store at an early period, the farm where it stood now being occupied by Christian Rose.
The first schoolhouse at Salisbury's, Corners was located on the northwest corner, Just across the street to the north from where the Redman store stands. In 1842 this schoolhouse was removed, and A. D. Raymond built a hotel there, the first at what was then Clarkson Centre. This hotel was kept for several years by James Clinton Patterson, well known all about, who removed first to Brockport and then to Michigan. It was lastly kept by Gustavus Dauchy, now of Clarkson, and while he was its landlord it was burned. The Baptist society was organized, bought the lot where the hotel stood, and built the present church edifice, which was sometime after the division of the town of Clarkson. We have no data of the Baptist society formation, but will be pleased to publish the facts should they be furnished.
\The Methodist Church was built in 1872, which was several years after the Baptist was erected. The German church, inorth of Hamlin Centre, was built in 187W Before the churches were built the church services were held at the schoolhouses.
The first blacksmith shop at Salisbury's Corners stood on the southeast corner, and was carried on, if not owned by John Howes.
The cemetery was on the Coulthurst farm, which was removed and abandoned about the time the railroad was constructed through Hamlin. Henry Kimball was the first postmaster, and then the place was known as Clarkson Centre. After the division of the town in 1852 and the formation of the town of Union, the place was called Union Centre. At a later date, when the name of the town was changed from Union to Hamlin, the place became Hamlin Centre, and thus continues, and it has had a goood degree of prosperity.. For several years Mr.James H. Redman has been the postmaster and a prosperous merchant.
To On-line Books Page
To GenWeb of Monroe Co. page.